AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
SSAuburn
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 1 of 4 (1,954 Views)
Accepted Solution

Combining Surfaces to create new

1954 Views, 3 Replies
10-02-2012 06:10 AM

Hey,  I'm trying to combine two surfaces to make one.  I saw lots of people saying create new surface and paste the two in the new surface.  Is there a way to create a copy besides doing the copy base, because that keeps causing my AutoCAD to error.  

 

Thanks!

 

 

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 2 of 4 (1,949 Views)

Re: Combining Surfaces to create new

10-02-2012 06:19 AM in reply to: SSAuburn
Create new surface, and under the Definitions, right click on Edits for the new surface is paste surface. Select the surfaces you want to paste.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,194
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 4 (1,948 Views)

Re: Combining Surfaces to create new

10-02-2012 06:19 AM in reply to: SSAuburn

You don't use Copy to paste surfaces into a new surface. Instead, create a surface, expand the sutrface in Prospector, go to Edits, right-click, select Paste Surface, here you be able to select the surface to paste.

 

10-2-2012 6-17-47 AM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 4 (1,947 Views)

Re: Combining Surfaces to create new

10-02-2012 06:19 AM in reply to: SSAuburn

Why do you need a copy? pasting the surfaces uses the data from the originals and maintains a dynamic connnection.

 

Pasting A & B into C. If A or B change C will see that change. If you make copies I dont think changes to A will be reflected in A copy

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs