AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 11 of 22 (139 Views)

Re: Color and SHP files

12-07-2012 08:54 AM in reply to: KirkNoonan

And you might need to set the elevations display mode in the same place to 'Use Surface Elevation'

Active Contributor
M_RR
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
Message 12 of 22 (138 Views)

Re: Color and SHP files

12-07-2012 08:56 AM in reply to: KirkNoonan

Oh yes, now we're getting close to what I want !! It seems to work ! Am trying this out on my model Monday, I hope it works !! Thanks for your help !

Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 13 of 22 (130 Views)

Re: Color and SHP files

12-07-2012 02:07 PM in reply to: M_RR

You can use banding 3D too if you have that particular style.  Same as 2d banding but is visible in model viewer.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Active Contributor
M_RR
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
Message 14 of 22 (103 Views)

Re: Color and SHP files

12-10-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: M_RR

Thanks so far, I was able to get the color on on any view perspective !

But I would like to obtain the legend of the color and also to add something like

elevation 0' : color = red

elevation 10 ' : color = blue

etc...

Is this possible ?

Thanks !

 

Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 15 of 22 (95 Views)

Re: Color and SHP files

12-10-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: M_RR

Yup,

 

Go to Annotate/Add Tables/Add Surface Legend tables

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Active Contributor
M_RR
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
Message 16 of 22 (89 Views)

Re: Color and SHP files

12-10-2012 06:22 AM in reply to: ericcollins6932

Thanks, I now have the table but it's empty. How do I specify the elevation / colors for my selection ?

I have two object I want to define

The first one is a surface - I can change the color from minor and major in the layer thing, but it does not help me specify the color by elevation ? Any clue ?

 

The second one is a iso-contours map of a area. I have many polyline, each representing a different elevation. I would like to be able to specify : polyline with elevation between 0 and 10' are red, polyline between 10' and 20' are blue,,and so on.

Thanks !

Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 17 of 22 (81 Views)

Re: Color and SHP files

12-10-2012 06:38 AM in reply to: KirkNoonan

Forget about your polylines. Now that you have a surface, you should use that for all of your analysis and display. If you experiment with the surface styles, you will find that you can make it do pretty much whatever you want. To get the legend to work, right click the surface and select surface properties. Then choose the 'Analysis' tab. On the analysis tab you will see a list of possibilities. Choose elevations, select the number of ranges and hit the arrow that points down. Now, in the bottom window, you can double click on the elevations in the ranges and change them. Those ranges will be reflected in your surface display and legend table.

Active Contributor
M_RR
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
Message 18 of 22 (79 Views)

Re: Color and SHP files

12-10-2012 06:40 AM in reply to: KirkNoonan

Thanks !

Active Contributor
M_RR
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
Message 19 of 22 (77 Views)

Re: Color and SHP files

12-10-2012 06:46 AM in reply to: M_RR

Now that did the trick for the table, but my surface stills does not show color / graded as I specified in the table !

It shows the color I used in the display tabs from the " edit surface style " menu

Active Contributor
M_RR
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
Message 20 of 22 (71 Views)

Re: Color and SHP files

12-10-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: M_RR

Okay so the problem come from the material style. When I use elevation-banding 2-D I get the color I specified in the table. But this is not exactly what I want. I would like something like the contour 5'-25' material but with my range of value in it ? ( I want to line only to change color, not the whole surface, only the iso-contour).

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.