AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 1 of 7 (728 Views)

Close a feature line?

728 Views, 6 Replies
03-16-2012 04:36 AM

Hi,

I'm probably being dim or looking too hard, but how do you close an existing feature line? For a polyline you just toggle the 'closed' drop down or type C when editing.

Cheers,

Kevin

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,792
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 7 (726 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

03-16-2012 05:09 AM in reply to: ksorsby

If it is a single FL It will close itself. Otherwise, use the join command on the modify palette

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 3 of 7 (716 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

03-16-2012 06:31 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Thanks Joe. The join command doesn't appear to close them unless you draw a 3d poly in between the ends yourself and join them to that, or am I doing it wrong?

With a couple of hundred of non-closed features in my drawing, I was hoping to avoid having to draw the lines and join the ends up manually. This is a function that polylines have already - draw 3 edges of a square, C for close and it closes the end for you.

Is this another function that has been bizarrely missed out? :smileywink:

 

Kevin

 

 

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,193
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (642 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

10-01-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: ksorsby

ksorsby wrote:

Thanks Joe. The join command doesn't appear to close them unless you draw a 3d poly in between the ends yourself and join them to that, or am I doing it wrong?

With a couple of hundred of non-closed features in my drawing, I was hoping to avoid having to draw the lines and join the ends up manually. This is a function that polylines have already - draw 3 edges of a square, C for close and it closes the end for you.

Is this another function that has been bizarrely missed out? :smileywink:

 

Kevin

 

 


Yea, I know this is old - was there ever an answer that worked for this situation?

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,816
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 7 (635 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

10-01-2012 01:05 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

There's only 2 methods I see and they both involve closed polylines. The first is that if you need a closed Featureline you draw a 3Dpolyline, close it and create a Featureline from it. If you already have a bunch of Featurelines you need to close you'd have to explode them to polylines, close them and then create new Featurelines from them. That would be a problem if they're already part of a Surface or being used as a target.

 

If you snap to the beginning point while drawing the Featureline the command will end. But you'll end up with n+1 points in the Featurelines. IOW 1 more points than you should have. For a square that would be 5.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,792
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 7 (631 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

10-01-2012 01:19 PM in reply to: ksorsby

When I first answered this I did not realize you wanted to close a gap. When I draw another FL betwen the gap and joint it becomes closed.

 

But this is not helpful with hundreds of gaps. You can explode the FL's >> pedit>> multiple>>> close, and then turn back to FL

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,193
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (594 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

10-02-2012 05:35 AM in reply to: ksorsby

Wow. A missing, simple feature that would probably take a C3D programmer 15 minutes to fix add. 

Thanks for the confirmation.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs