AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
New Member
lea0801
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-13-2011
Message 1 of 6 (857 Views)

Clipping WMS Images

857 Views, 5 Replies
05-13-2011 11:52 AM

I have a drawing that has an aerial photo inserted into it using a WMS Connection.  I was wondering if there is a way to clip the image down to a smaller area.  For SHP connections, we have an option to insert to drawing using query, but this option does not seem to be available for a WMS data connection.

 

 

Active Contributor
andy.manninen
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 6 (850 Views)

Re: Clipping WMS Images

05-13-2011 01:03 PM in reply to: lea0801

does IMAGECLIP (modify image boundary) or XCLIP (clip XREF's to a boundary) work with WMS?

 

:Cheers:

Windows 7 x 64
12 GB Ram
Intel Xeon Quad 3.20 GHz
NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Civil 3D 2011 V2
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,921
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 6 (840 Views)

Re: Clipping WMS Images

05-13-2011 04:26 PM in reply to: lea0801

lea0801 wrote:

I have a drawing that has an aerial photo inserted into it using a WMS Connection.  I was wondering if there is a way to clip the image down to a smaller area.  For SHP connections, we have an option to insert to drawing using query, but this option does not seem to be available for a WMS data connection.

 

 


With data connect you can zoom in to the size you want then right click on the raster layer (form the map display manager) and select resample.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Member
kse-engineering
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-29-2010
Message 4 of 6 (793 Views)

Re: Clipping WMS Images

07-27-2011 02:55 PM in reply to: lea0801

Clipping is not a feature.  

 

with other Data Connect sources, like shp files, you can query it using a bounding area, but not a wms layer, at least in 2012.

 

i've been staying in the layout view so the wms is limited to the viewport.  been working well.

New Member
Group1341
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-28-2014
Message 5 of 6 (111 Views)

Re: Clipping WMS Images

04-03-2014 01:40 PM in reply to: lea0801

I've run into this issue also. It will be nice if at the data connect stage we could 'add to drawing with query' then bring the WMS into a specified extent (query by location). hopefully in the future AutoCAD will add this.

 

In addition to clipping the image, we need to somehow include the image in a stand-alone archive package. Here is the process I've utilized:

 

1 Copy the viewport frame into Model space

2 Isolate the view frame and the WMS

3 Maximize your screen area (this improves the resolution) and zoom-w around the frame

4 Run JPGOUT, save file as jpg

5 Hide the viewport frame and run JPGOUT again save as ***clean.jpg

6 Insert the 1st jpeg you saved, use the View frame in model space to correlate(move / rotate / scale) it

7 replace the 1st jpg with the ***clean.jpg - this is to hide the viewport line.

 

Note:

Don't pan or zoom between steps 4 and 5

Step 5 and 7 are optional, Its a good practice because the view frame might show on the edge of your image and look funny. Also if the view is panned slightly you wont have to start over.

 

I've asked one of our programmers to make a tool to do this automatically, as we plan to use WMS images more in the future.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,575
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 6 (105 Views)

Re: Clipping WMS Images

04-03-2014 02:55 PM in reply to: Group1341

Instead of juggling with JPGOUT and viewports, you can save locally any WMS area as TIF/TFW pair, thru the must-have opensource Qgis... 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs