AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
Message 1 of 4 (994 Views)
Accepted Solution

Civil View - Visualization of corridors with multiple baselines or intersections

994 Views, 3 Replies
08-28-2012 06:02 AM

I created a simple roundabout in Civil3D with the intent on visualizing the corridor in 3DS Max Design using the Civil View plugin. The corridor rendered complete in Civil 3D, but there are large corridor gaps in Civil View. They all appear to be at the location of corridor baseline boundaries. Obviously this is a non-starter, as 3DS Max is supposed to improve the visual quality, not reduce. Does anyone have any suggestions?

 

Attached are some sample images of the roundabout in Civil3D and in 3DS Max Design.

 

I am using Civil 3D 2012 and 3DS Max Design 2012.

Valued Mentor
Posts: 528
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 2 of 4 (987 Views)

Re: Civil View - Visualization of corridors with multiple baselines or intersect

08-28-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: leemullon6129

leemullon6129 wrote:

I created a simple roundabout in Civil3D with the intent on visualizing the corridor in 3DS Max Design using the Civil View plugin. The corridor rendered complete in Civil 3D, but there are large corridor gaps in Civil View. They all appear to be at the location of corridor baseline boundaries. Obviously this is a non-starter, as 3DS Max is supposed to improve the visual quality, not reduce. Does anyone have any suggestions?

 

Attached are some sample images of the roundabout in Civil3D and in 3DS Max Design.

 

I am using Civil 3D 2012 and 3DS Max Design 2012.


Welcome to the wonderful world of Autodesk products that are compatible, yet not really in reality.  The only way I know of to fix things like that is to just edit them in Max using Max's tools.  You'll lose your "live" connection to the C3D drawing, though.

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Civil 3D 2014 x64
Windows 7 64-bit
6GB RAM
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-17-2010
Message 3 of 4 (875 Views)

Re: Civil View - Visualization of corridors with multiple baselines or intersect

09-17-2012 09:51 AM in reply to: leemullon6129

I've experienced a similar incident at an intersection. I increased the frequency in my corridor for the items not importing correctly and when I reimported the model the gaps where gone. I'm not sure if this will solve your issue but it did work for me. Good luck.

 

Sam

Member
dcrnila
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Message 4 of 4 (614 Views)

Re: Civil View - Visualization of corridors with multiple baselines or intersect

01-21-2013 03:02 AM in reply to: shooz1

I don' know if it is related, but I noticed that in version 2013 export to Civil View has a bug. First polygon after corridor hidden region (which is mostly in place of intersections) is not exported. I have a file with 16 intersections and after each of them there is no first polygon in non-hidden region in Civil View. In Civil 3D everything looks fine.

Can anyone suggest the best workaround, please?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs