AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
nwtayeb
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-05-2011
Message 1 of 5 (325 Views)
Accepted Solution

Civil 3d performance

325 Views, 4 Replies
05-02-2013 06:21 AM

 

I use civil 3d 2012 64 bit with windows 7, I7 and 8 G of RAM, designing a 15 Km rural road, but I suffer … too slow and sometimes stop working showing error, any help please?

Nemdili Tayeb
Use:Civil 3d 2012

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 2 of 5 (306 Views)

Re: Civil 3d performance

05-02-2013 07:48 AM in reply to: nwtayeb

A little more information would be helpful. What is your workflow. Do you keep your data separate?  Surface(s) in a separate drawing, Alignments & profiles in their own drawing, corridor in another, etc. do you use data references?  When you say slow, what process are you using that provides a slow response.  Data management is key.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, evaluating C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,755
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 5 (291 Views)

Re: Civil 3d performance

05-02-2013 08:30 AM in reply to: nwtayeb

A few stabs:

 

1. is windows configured for best performance i.e. turn off windows animation.

2. minimize the use of palettes in acad

3. is SSM running if so how many SS are open, turn off SSM palette animations.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,711
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 5 (283 Views)

Re: Civil 3d performance

05-02-2013 08:55 AM in reply to: nwtayeb

Also, for large, intense DWG files, 8GB may not be enough.  Adding more won't speed things up, but it may help with crashin/lock-ups you may have.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Active Member
nwtayeb
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-05-2011
Message 5 of 5 (167 Views)

Re: Civil 3d performance

08-04-2013 01:55 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer
Yes correct, i follow what you have advise me, I was amazed by the new performance, thank you very much.
Nemdili Tayeb
Use:Civil 3d 2012

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs