AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
Smokey88
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 1 of 8 (250 Views)

Civil 3d Instability

250 Views, 7 Replies
10-24-2012 08:37 PM

Am having an issue with Civil 3d just installed on a new desktop that exceeds ACAD's hardware requirements.  After clicking on a command, the program freezes or locks up and sometimes shuts down entirely requiring reboot.  This happens very reguraly and is not dependent on the command - simple editing or creating surfaces or other operations will start the cycle.  IT has checked the hardware and cannot solve the problem.

Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 589
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 2 of 8 (226 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Instability

10-25-2012 04:07 AM in reply to: Smokey88

What version of Civil3D and Windows are you running? 32 or 64bit?

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
Member
Smokey88
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 3 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Instability

10-25-2012 04:14 AM in reply to: michael.robertson
64
Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 589
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 4 of 8 (224 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Instability

10-25-2012 04:15 AM in reply to: Smokey88

What version of Civil3D, what version of WIndows XP, Vista, 7, 8?

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,768
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 8 (195 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Instability

10-25-2012 06:47 AM in reply to: Smokey88

Let us know what your computer specs are. I know they exceed the minimum recommended. But they're still recommending 4 GB as a minimum for goodness sakes. 4 GB will let you start the program but not much else. I'm trying to spec 24 GB in our next 2 computers. I'd say 12 is the minimum if you're going to work on large projects without breaking them up in to smaller sections.

 

Allen

Member
Smokey88
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 6 of 8 (176 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Instability

10-25-2012 08:05 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Looks like we are little shy on what we need - here is the system basic info currently in use:

 

Dell

Precision T3600

Intel (R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-1600 0 @ 2.8 GHz 2.80 GHz

8.00 GB RAM

64-bit Operating System

 

Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 589
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 7 of 8 (149 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Instability

10-25-2012 10:07 AM in reply to: Smokey88

And what version of Civil3D (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013) and what version of Windows (XP, Vista, 7, 8)?

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,768
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 8 (148 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Instability

10-25-2012 10:07 AM in reply to: Smokey88

No. That looks pretty good. 8 GB RAM might slow you down at some points but shouldn't cause the issues that you mention. More RAM is certainly a good idea. I don't know what size projects you work on so I can't be to sure. I'm usually working on a couple of miles of suburban connector road

 

I'm still not sure which version you're on. If it's 2012 or earlier, have you checked it all the updates and service packs are installed? If you're on subscription you [or your contact person] should start a Service Request from the subscription site.

 

Allen

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs