AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
wrdesign
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
Message 1 of 4 (240 Views)

Civil 3d Data Shortcuts Question

240 Views, 3 Replies
11-15-2013 02:04 PM

Whenever I set a data short working folder for a specific project and then I go to a different project.  The same data shortcut for the prior project stays set.  This even happens for a blank dwg file.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,146
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 4 (224 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Data Shortcuts Question

11-15-2013 03:24 PM in reply to: wrdesign

So what happens, if you from the same computer, using same profile in options, set the working folder for Project A.

Then move on to Project B and do the same, then go back to Work on Project A?

If Data Shortcuts are properly set up then C3D should be able to set the appropriate Data Shortcut Working Folder most of the time.

 

I rarely have to set my working folder more than once per project but there are some caveats depending on workflow,

folder setup etc. Stetting the working folder one initial time per project is required.

 

Are all of your C3D source drawings for a given project located in the same folder?

 

What version of Civil 3D are you using?

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 590
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 3 of 4 (151 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Data Shortcuts Question

11-25-2013 06:10 AM in reply to: wrdesign

I'm a programmer, not a regular user so I may be wrong, but if memory serves me correct; if you associate your drawing to a project, it will automatically change your DS settings whenever you change drawings.

 

Once you open a file and have the DS settings correct you right click on the "Data Shortcuts" item in the Prospector and select "Associate Project to Drawing"

 

You can set the assocation for all the files in a project by doing the same steps above but selecting "Associate Project to Multiple Drawings"

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
Contributor
tomshumpert
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-11-2005
Message 4 of 4 (133 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Data Shortcuts Question

11-25-2013 10:07 AM in reply to: wrdesign

If you have Data shortcut folders in your individual projects you will have to change it each time.

I

Tommy Shumpert -
Civil3DiT | Twitter

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs