AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
TJPlace8461
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 1 of 19 (1,347 Views)

Civil 3d 2013 Point Classification

1347 Views, 18 Replies
04-25-2012 07:04 AM

I just upgraded to 2013 and I attempted to create a point cloud from a LAS file.  My Point Cloud Classification has only Ground checked.  However after the creation, my point cloud seems to have all the points.  It does not seem to be filtering out the trees.

Valued Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 259
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 2 of 19 (1,308 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Point Classification

04-26-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: TJPlace8461

Congratulations...  I think you found a bug.  I am able to reproduce this error.  I imported an isd file from 2011 that applied the classification style correctly.  In 2013, the classifications don't work.

 

Civil 3D 2011 style showing ground points only:

PointCloudClasification2011a.jpg

 

In 2013, the classifications are ignored.  I tried this with the existing isd file and by importing the las data into a new isd file.

PointCloudClasification2013a.jpg

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
Employee
osbornm
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-15-2010
Message 3 of 19 (1,296 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Point Classification

04-26-2012 10:41 AM in reply to: david.zavislan

Yes, there is a bug here.  Funny thing is, if you open a 2012 (or before) drawing containing a point cloud in 2013, then the classification styling works correctly.  Very odd.

Member
TJPlace8461
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 4 of 19 (1,204 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Point Classification

05-15-2012 04:56 AM in reply to: osbornm

Just checking back to see if this issue has been resolved?  If so, what do I need to do?

Employee
osbornm
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-15-2010
Message 5 of 19 (1,199 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Point Classification

05-15-2012 06:51 AM in reply to: TJPlace8461

Currently the workaround is to create the C3D point cloud object in 2012 and bring it forward to 2013.  Then the classification data is recognized and displayed properly.  The fix for 2013 would have to come in a service pack.

Member
TJPlace8461
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 6 of 19 (1,100 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Point Classification

07-31-2012 08:51 AM in reply to: osbornm

I have been creating the point clouds in 2012 and it is working fine, but it would be much more convenient to do it all in 2013.  Any word on a possible patch or service pack to resolve this issue?

Member
ewatson
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 7 of 19 (986 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Point Classification

10-04-2012 06:14 AM in reply to: TJPlace8461

I also have this issue.  Would love to see a fix!  It only took my a couple hors of pont cloud generation and regeneration to figure this one out.

Distinguished Contributor
ceethreedee.com
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 8 of 19 (865 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Point Classification

12-17-2012 07:07 PM in reply to: ewatson

Yep count me in! Point Classification fail.

 

Kapanther

Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,538
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 9 of 19 (843 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Point Classification

12-18-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: TJPlace8461

Has anyone tried this in 2013 with the new service pack 1?

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
New Member
tjplace1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-18-2012
Message 10 of 19 (828 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Point Classification

12-18-2012 11:23 AM in reply to: TJPlace8461
I have upgraded to SP1 on 2013 and the glitch still exists.  I am very disappointed in Autodesk for the amount of time it is taking to resolve this.

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.