AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 11 of 22 (855 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Drawing initial View

06-09-2012 05:12 AM in reply to: sharshbarger

Running 2013 on Vista 64bit I get the previews for drawings in the open file dialogue, looking at the tutorial drawings from both 2012 and 2013.

 

I also get the preview on a drawing saved from 2013.

 

After checking, I don't see the preview option in the views drop down in the open dialogue either in civil 3d 2013, but I still see the previews.

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 12 of 22 (852 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Drawing initial View

06-09-2012 05:50 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

I finally tracked down the registry location for the dialogue settings saved by civil 3d and found a setting which I am assuming controls the display of the preview.

 

The key location is

 

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R19.0\ACAD-B000:409\Profiles\<<C3D_ANZ>>\Dialogs\Select File

 

Swap your current profile name for <<C3D_ANZ>>

 

and the key name is "PreviewVisible" and the value on my machine is set to 1.

 

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-27-2008
Message 13 of 22 (848 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Drawing initial View

06-09-2012 07:22 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

I appriciate the effort, but I checked that registry setting and mine is also set to 1.  Still no view.  I got an email back from my "trouble" ticket and Autodesk is now telling me "after more research, they found that it's a known issue and is in the hands of the developement team."  There is nothing that can be done right now till the solution is found.

 

This is the 3rd issue that I've found thats a "known issue" and the development team is working on it.  I'm VERY Frustrated with Autodesk personally.  They need to quit pumping out the software so quick and make sure it works for the price everyone is required to pay.

 

Thanks for everyones efforts.

Steven

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,479
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 14 of 22 (835 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Drawing initial View

06-09-2012 10:38 AM in reply to: sharshbarger

harshbarg wrote:

I appriciate the effort, but I checked that registry setting and mine is also set to 1.  Still no view.  I got an email back from my "trouble" ticket and Autodesk is now telling me "after more research, they found that it's a known issue and is in the hands of the developement team."  There is nothing that can be done right now till the solution is found.

 

This is the 3rd issue that I've found thats a "known issue" and the development team is working on it.  I'm VERY Frustrated with Autodesk personally.  They need to quit pumping out the software so quick and make sure it works for the price everyone is required to pay.

 

Thanks for everyones efforts.

Steven


These sentiments have been echoed several times in the past and I totally agree - they seem to concentrate on the "interesting stuff" rather than getting a solid core product.

 

My personal gripe is that they broke the DRIVE command in 2012 SP1 and although it works fine again in 2013, there is still no fix for 2012 possibly suggesting that this a little used command??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
Active Contributor
gjcbachman
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-17-2010
Message 15 of 22 (739 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Drawing initial View

09-10-2012 02:13 PM in reply to: sharshbarger

My preview doesn't work either in the open window but works like it should in the Saveas window, where I really don't need it.  I just tried a repair and that didn't work.  I really don't want to reload.  Where's service pack 1?

Lisa

Windows 7 x 64
Intel i7-4770 CPu @ 3.40 GHz
24 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro K2000D
Civil 3D 2014 (i.108.0.4, SP1)
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-27-2008
Message 16 of 22 (725 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Drawing initial View

09-11-2012 04:33 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Autodesk doesn't call them "Service Packs" anymore, that would imply the program is broken.  For some reason, Hotfix 2 was on the website, and then removed.  Not quite sure what happened or why it was pulled.  But I was able to download it, and install it without issue.

 

I still have no drawing preview and not quite sure what the Hotfix 2 did.

Active Contributor
gjcbachman
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-17-2010
Message 17 of 22 (696 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Drawing initial View

09-12-2012 12:15 PM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Autodesk told me to edit the registry and it worked.  I now have a preview on open.

Here is the steps they said to do which appears to be the same as Andrew's:

 

-Find and select this registry key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R19.0\ACAD-B000:409\Profiles\<<C3D...>>\Dialogs\Select File

-On the right side of the window, double-click "PreviewVisible".
 
-Change the value to zero and click OK.
 
-Launch Civil 3D and check the OPEN dialog window. The entire right pane should be gone.
 
-Exit Civil 3D and then go back into the registry and change the value of PreviewVisible back to 1.
 
-See if Civil now shows a preview.

 

This worked for me but I still wonder why it was set to 0.  They said probably an install or profile problem.

Lisa

Windows 7 x 64
Intel i7-4770 CPu @ 3.40 GHz
24 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro K2000D
Civil 3D 2014 (i.108.0.4, SP1)
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,616
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 18 of 22 (511 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Drawing initial View

01-02-2013 08:43 AM in reply to: gjcbachman

Have you tried the suggested fix posted above? What version of the software are you running? Include what service pack you're on.

Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 19 of 22 (481 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Drawing initial View

01-06-2013 06:01 PM in reply to: gjcbachman

Thanks for posting the solution.

 

My Civil 3d ended up not showing the preview for the open dialogue but was showing for the save dialogue the same as you had.

 

Your posted fix corrected this for my machine as well.

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Active Contributor
gjcbachman
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-17-2010
Message 20 of 22 (466 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2013 Drawing initial View

01-07-2013 07:07 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

This does fix the problem but it keeps happening to me and I can't figure out why.  I've installed the service pack and it still occasionally happens.  Luckily when I go into Regedit it defaults to the folder so it's a quick fix.  Maybe it will be fixed in 2014.

Lisa

Windows 7 x 64
Intel i7-4770 CPu @ 3.40 GHz
24 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro K2000D
Civil 3D 2014 (i.108.0.4, SP1)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs