Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Civil 3D surface problem

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
mushroom0320
894 Views, 13 Replies

Civil 3D surface problem

Hi, 

I'm new to civil 3D, never use it before but familiar with normal autocad. I would like to use civil 3D to compute the earthwork volume. I know that to do this, i need to create a surface in civil 3D first. The problem is how i create the surface ? 

I have a topo drawing provided by the surveyor but i do not have the raw data. How do i convert the topo drawing to the tin surface in order for me to compute the earthwork volume ?

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
NathanBee
in reply to: mushroom0320

A search on these discussion groups might help. For example: this.

Creating a surface from (sometimes incomplete) data provided by surveyors has been covered many times before.

The Help and tutorials are also other great places to look.

Good luck!

Message 3 of 14
tcorey

Mushroom, you need to provide more information if you want a helpful answer.

What exactly do you have in the existing drawing? Points? Contours? Polylines that represent breaklines? You have to help us before we can help you.

Perhaps if you post your drawing someone will take a look, but in the mean time, I suggest you go to YouTube and search for Civil 3D Surface. After you're comfortable with surfaces, search for Civil 3D Volumes.

Good luck.

Tim Corey
MicroCAD Training and Consulting, Inc.
Redding, CA
Autodesk Gold Reseller

New knowledge is the most valuable commodity on earth. -- Kurt Vonnegut
Message 4 of 14
neilyj666

I'd echo Tim's response and say that until we know what you have in your drawing there are many possibilities to create a surface. Either post your drawing or WBLOCK out a representative sample of the objects in it