AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
CADvisers
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎01-03-2008
Message 1 of 6 (469 Views)

Civil 3D is 10+ yrs old, Why are 2014's surfaces so childish with their display?

469 Views, 5 Replies
08-16-2013 05:09 AM

Aren't Surfaces the foundation of Civil 3D's "3D" functionality of being efficient?

 

2014's Surface Display needs to be fixed ASAP!

This is very frustrating for all users that have recently upgraded from 2012 or 2013 and all their surface analysis drawings that have been setup with prior releases, (ie. Slope Maps, Volume Maps, Feasibility Maps, etc...)  ARE NOW USELESS!!!!!

 

Why are they useless?

....  Because the graphical analysis display cannot not be set to mimic how all prior releases have shown.

 

I know others have posted these complaints and reponses have been made from autodesk of "as designed",  "We're discussing it."  "Will get this resolved soon."

 

Whenever you open a drawing up in a new release of Civil 3D, they should appear exactly like they did when you last closed the drawing in a prior release.  If they do not appear to be just like the prior release than the problem is equal to if not greater than a FATAL ERROR!  

 

There is no excuse for this not to be fixed by now.  This has been reported by so many since the 2014 release date.   There's no excuse, because there is no NEW programming that needs to be done.  It's a hot fix replacing a few files.  And if that's not the case becuase of new spectacular surface features, then remove the new spectacular surface features and get it back to actually working.

 

Autodesk,

I'm not posting this to attack the Civil 3D team, I'm posting this so that the product that you're selling to existing customers is worth what they're paying for, and what they've been paying for, for many years.   Quality assuranace on every new release is not up to par.  Too much testing time is involved with new "cool" features, when more time and care has to be taken on the foundations of the software.   Surfaces being the number #1.    Surfaces are why Autodesk has been able to win new customers from others using competitive software.  This should be a "huge" reason to update this with a HOT FIX along with another apology of inconvienence that happens to always be thrown in the mix.  

 

Becuase that's exactly how everyone else gets forgived, ...It's like buying a car, but you find out that it only goes in reverse only after you get the keys.

Car Salesperson:  "Ooops, I'm sorry for the inconvienence, but will fix that for you, but we don't have any appointments available for a few months to get that fixed.  So you'll just have to work around that problem and use your mirrors to go in reverse, but lookie hear! ... your rearview mirror does give you the accurate outside temperature. Isn't that cool!!!  :smileyhappy: "

 

 

 

Jonathan Stewart
CADvisers
P.O. Box 7811
Lancaster, PA 17604
Ph. 717-468-3111


*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,691
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 6 (430 Views)

Re: Civil 3D is 10+ yrs old, Why are 2014's surfaces so childish with their disp

08-16-2013 06:21 AM in reply to: CADvisers

Was this not addressed by the recently released Hotfix 1?

 

See post 1 http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/CIvil-3D-2014-Hotfix-1-posted/td-p/4318368

Surface displays seem to be working as expected on my machine now..!!!!

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
CADvisers
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎01-03-2008
Message 3 of 6 (417 Views)

Re: Civil 3D is 10+ yrs old, Why are 2014's surfaces so childish with their disp

08-16-2013 06:43 AM in reply to: neilyj

neilyj,

 

Change your surface style to have Elevations display mode to "Flatten Elevations".

Let me know your results.

 

Thanks,

 



Jonathan Stewart
CADvisers
P.O. Box 7811
Lancaster, PA 17604
Ph. 717-468-3111


*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,691
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 6 (409 Views)

Re: Civil 3D is 10+ yrs old, Why are 2014's surfaces so childish with their disp

08-16-2013 06:57 AM in reply to: CADvisers
I've never seen the point of this option and never use it - can you enlighten me as to practical uses for it?
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
CADvisers
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎01-03-2008
Message 5 of 6 (398 Views)

Re: Civil 3D is 10+ yrs old, Why are 2014's surfaces so childish with their disp

08-16-2013 07:24 AM in reply to: neilyj

I'm not sure I have a good "practical" answer for you.

But it's how some of my clients surface styles are set up.  So the point of a change in display from one version to the other creates more work for users that thought they already had a finished product.

 

Jonathan Stewart
CADvisers
P.O. Box 7811
Lancaster, PA 17604
Ph. 717-468-3111


*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,691
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 6 (377 Views)

Re: Civil 3D is 10+ yrs old, Why are 2014's surfaces so childish with their disp

08-16-2013 08:04 AM in reply to: CADvisers
I'd agree that the surface rebuild change was a major mistake on Autodesk's part but apparently it was "...a response to user's requests...".

If there is a still an issue after supposedly being fixed in HF1 then I'd suggest you log a support request
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs