AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 11 of 60 (6,241 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 05:25 AM in reply to: Aldanmark01

Not sure how much clearer Peter can be when he says "Civil 3D running on the Mac version of AutoCAD is not in our current product plans"...

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 12 of 60 (6,238 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 05:34 AM in reply to: Aldanmark01

I would strongly disagree with your assessment.

 

It takes approximately $3500 to get a Mac running C3D, when an equivalent PC could be had for $1500.  Most people would consider that significant, even though the software costs more.  And the software is more like $7500, not $10000.

 

I'm surprised that you'd be having 5x the trouble with Win 7 computers vs. Macs.  I don't even think I ever found XP computers to be 5x the trouble, and Win 7 is far superior to XP.  It's true that Macs are superior in a large number of ways, but that's not new, or any reflection of current times.  That's ALWAYS been true.  I personally think the only reason Macs are such a small percentage of the market is the cost of their hardware, which is pretty much the exact opposite of your opinion that hardware cost doesn't matter.

Sinc
Member
Aldanmark01
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-05-2011
Message 13 of 60 (6,235 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 05:54 AM in reply to: Sinc
Not trying to argue or justfy anything here. At $200 an hour with 8 designers a network issue costs me so much that I want/need/prefer the reliability I get from my mac stuff. I'm sure there are other out there the same. Stand alone with a few crashes might be fine. I'm talking a commercial design business where given the option I'd take it tomorrow. Appreciate Peter said they are not looking at it. I'm just saying open your eyes, there has to be more people like me around. Minority, possibly but the numbers are and will grow, and I'd say rapidly.
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 14 of 60 (6,221 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 06:38 AM in reply to: Aldanmark01

"Minority, possibly but the numbers are and will grow, and I'd say rapidly"

 

Hasn't Apple been telling us that since 1980?

 

Just kidding. :smileyhappy:

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,173
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 15 of 60 (6,212 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 08:11 AM in reply to: Aldanmark01

 


Aldanmark01 wrote:
Appreciate Peter said they are not looking at it. I'm just saying open your eyes, there has to be more people like me around. Minority, possibly but the numbers are and will grow, and I'd say rapidly.

I'm far from an expert on the matter, but as Peter mentioned, I have seen more than one C3D expert (AU instructors, etc) running C3D on a Mac using a VM. I doubt they would be using this configuration if there was a significant performance hit. Just wondering if you have considered this?

 

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 16 of 60 (6,201 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 09:00 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

I watched a good friend of yours run C3D, Vault Client and Vault on the same Mac at AU. I could never justify the cost in my gig but it was impressive.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Valued Contributor
RickGraham
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎10-15-2010
Message 17 of 60 (6,182 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 10:58 AM in reply to: jmayo

Guess I should chime in on this one.

 

As Peter Funk stated, there are no plans for Civil 3D at this time. So, that tells me there is NO development of any kind going on in in the quest for Civil 3D for Mac.

 

I will admit it that that I am a Mac dude. It was real fun being in on the AutoCAD for Mac project from Alpha through beta and seeing what it has, and continues to evolve to. Remembering that A4M is a TOTAL rewrite. The same would be partially true for a Civil 3D for Mac project.

 

I run Civil 3D 2012 on my 2.4 GHz 6GB RAM Macbook Pro and it hums along nicely. To get the optimum out of it, I run it in the bootcamp mode with Windows 7x64. I have run it via the Parallels/VM modes, but if you really want performance and speed, run it in bootcamp mode.

 

For those naysayer's - I'm not trying to start a "holy" war. I'm just saying what I have observed. My Macbook Pro with Windows 7x64 runs Civil 3D better than my Dell Optimus dual core 2.8GHz 6GB RAM machine. Why? Because I believe that the Macbook has superior components. Its integrated TWO video cards as well as the all aluminum unibody make it the perfect heatsync for the hot processors. It works for me. Period.

 

I, for one will welcome Civil 3D for Mac with open arms if/when it is a reality. But until then, I'll continue to run my little Autodesk world on my Macbook Pro.

 

YMMV

 

Rick

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,790
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 18 of 60 (6,176 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 11:10 AM in reply to: RickGraham

I think you hit an important point. Superior components. One of the difficulties of building a PC is having all the components match well. With a Mac the only components that go in to it are components made for the Mac.

About 4 years ago I bought a Sager Laptop [portable workstation] with XP pro 32 bit on it an 4 GB RAM I've been running C3D 2009 on it with almost no problems. It also has an aluminum case. It's set up for Nvidia dual SLI cards but I haven't invested in a second one yet.

It's run better than any other computer I've ever had and I'm convinced that it's because of the way it was built. It uses the best components that are matched to run well with each other.

Hopefully I'll upgrade it to Win 7 64 bit soon and add some RAM. Then I'll put 2011 or 2012 on it.

So if computers are built well they run well. It's just a lot more difficult to find PCs that are built so carefully.

Allen

New Member
laszloszabo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-06-2012
Message 19 of 60 (4,902 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

03-06-2012 04:36 AM in reply to: RickGraham

Hi Rick!

 

I'd like to ask an advice, I have a MacBook Pro 13inch 2.4GHz (Intel Core 2 Duo, 4Gb RAM, 250Gb HDD, NVIDIA GeForce 320M graphics), I run Civil 3D 2010 on it in bootcamp mode with Windows 7x64 (the Civil 3D is 32 bit). I think the program runs slow. What do you think my mac's capacity is enough for running C3D 2010? (Actually I'm a new mac user, maybe I haven't installed anything correctly.)

 

 I thank you in advance for your reply.

 

Since,

Laszlo

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 20 of 60 (4,851 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

03-07-2012 09:11 PM in reply to: RickGraham

RickGraham wrote:

 

As Peter Funk stated, there are no plans for Civil 3D at this time. So, that tells me there is NO development of any kind going on in in the quest for Civil 3D for Mac.


 



The main problem is that Autodesk has been moving more and more to a .NET platform for so many things, and .NET is not supported on Mac.  I've heard rumors of people trying to get .NET ported to Mac, but Microsoft's development is SO messy that I wouldn't hold my breath.

 

Once upon a time, Apple had EOF/WebObjects working on Windows, but the incredible amount of work required to "tame" Microsoft's work made it financially unfeasable.

Sinc

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs