AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
punchy
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
Message 1 of 8 (581 Views)

Civil 3D 2013 installation

581 Views, 7 Replies
10-15-2012 06:16 AM

I cancelled the installation of C3D 2013 because I thought it was locked up. Now it will not install because it thinks it is already installed.

 I have removed all folders that I can find relating to Civil 3d and removed some registry keys with help from our support team at Eagle Point. They can't figure out what I should do next.

 

Has anyone ran into this issue, I really need to get this installed on this one machine ASAP, and I dont want to reformat to accomplish it.

I believe the problem lies within the registry, but I'm not all that comfortable editing it without specific instructions.

 

Thanks

Andy Percifield

Cadd Manager

CrossRoad Engineers

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 8 (569 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 installation

10-15-2012 07:36 AM in reply to: punchy

Hi,

 

follow >>>these instructions<<<

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 8 (565 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 installation

10-15-2012 07:47 AM in reply to: punchy

[This] might also help.

 

Allen

Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 589
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 4 of 8 (562 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 installation

10-15-2012 07:50 AM in reply to: punchy

A great tool for all types of install/un-install problems is Microsoft FixIt! http://support.microsoft.com/fixit/

 

You can use it over the web or a standalone version you can put on a USB drive.

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,201
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 5 of 8 (547 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 installation

10-15-2012 08:40 AM in reply to: punchy

I've been through what you are facing. It is a horrible process that took MANY days of following ADESK support guidance that didn't work, failed install attempts and trial and error troubleshooting. The only way I've been able to get the installer freed up is to uninstall ALL Autocad applications and then delete ALL registry entries related to Autodesk+Autocad+Map+Civil3D+C3D+Infrastructure suite. There are thousands of entries so you will never get the job done using the Windows Registry editor. You will need to obtain a registry utility that allows you to filter, select and delete multiple entries. I used the free version of REGISTRAR but even with that tool it was a tedious task.

 

You will also need to delete any Autodesk folders in your user profile and your programs folders (be sure to delete the Autodesk folder in the Common Files folder under the programs folder too), then clean out your user profile temp folder and do a reboot before attempting to re-install.

 

I must say that Autodesk really needs to provide a suite uninstall utility or revise the installer to allow for repairs or reinstalls when this happens.

 

By the way, after all the headaches I've experienced just to get the software re-installed, I'm again encountering the crashing problem that led me to re-install in the first place. I've now been dead in the water for more than 2 months on my home machine. If I weren't so dependent on this software I would have given up by now but I really don't have that option so I'll have to continue poking along with support requests.

 

P.S. I tried following all the suggestions recommended on the forums and knowledgebase along with the utilities such as CCLEANER/Microsoft FixIt and more. None of them worked and it just wasted hours of time cleaning up after every failed install. I think you'll be better off just cleaning everything out and starting fresh.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Contributor
punchy
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
Message 6 of 8 (521 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 installation

10-15-2012 12:29 PM in reply to: Neilw

Wow, I don't want to do all that!

I have heard some 3rd party reg. cleaners might solve the problem.

I went thru the steps on the AD website to no avail.

Thankfully this is not my computer, and I did install it sucessfully on another machine, so the bad one is still functioning with C3D 2012, so until push comes to shove (which it will) I'm lettling it lay.

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,201
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 7 of 8 (510 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 installation

10-15-2012 01:18 PM in reply to: punchy

As far as registry cleaners, I tried CCLEAN, REGCLEAN, Advanced System Optimizer and I think one or 2 others to no avail. They might work for you if you don't mind going through the install process a few times to see.

 

If you can't get any of the recommended solutions to work you'll likely end up having to uninstall 2012. Otherwise you'll have to guess which registry entries to leave vs. which to delete and you'd probably end up corrupting it too. 

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Employee
alison.gangler
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 8 of 8 (475 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 installation

10-17-2012 09:49 AM in reply to: punchy

Hi,

 

I've read through the thread on the Forums post and wanted to suggest that you try first to remove the Windows Installer entries in the Registry that cause this kind of behavior. I'm linking to the Install and Licensing blog post that describes the steps to resolve this:

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2011/07/general-installation-cannot-uninstall-andor-reins...

To remove any remaining Windows Installer entries referring to the 2013 product, you can download a copy of CCleaner from:

http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download/standard


Then you can run the utility, setting it to search the Registry for Applications, Installer and Obsolete Software. This should pick up any leftover entries from the uninstall for the product.

Here's a summary of the instructions in the blog post:

1. Browse to the following locations in the registry, using Regedit.exe:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Products

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\UserData\S-1-5-18\Products

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall

2. Right click on these locations and type the application name and then search. Remove any entries found related to the product that is reported as already installed.

Or you can right click on those three reg locations listedand search (Find) for the application name (Civil 3D, etc), removing/deleting anything from the GUID level as demonstrated in this screen cast.

http://screencast.com/t/JJlnInDcP

It is strongly recommended to back up the registry prior to making any edits or modifications.

On rare occasions, the Windows Installer service requires that all Component GUIDS and other registry entries from the install also be removed as in the post from the other users on this thread. However, this occurs only on a few occasions so it is a good idea to try the suggestions above first.

 

Please let me know if this helps. Thanks.

 

Cheers,

Alison

___________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Alison Gangler
IPG - ICP Install Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs