AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
mauserp08
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-17-2011
Message 1 of 13 (1,164 Views)
Accepted Solution

Civil 3D 2013 Part Publishing

1164 Views, 12 Replies
05-07-2012 12:11 PM

Our company is in the process of making the move to 2013 and are really interested in using the pressure pipe and parts that are now available. I found the document for Part Publishing and decided to give it a go and create one for a Fire Hydrant. I followed the instructions given and did not have any problems until step 3.6 CONTENT File Creation of the document. I believe it was during this step that I recieved the following error message:

 

A png file was created for the part but Civil 3D failed to return my drawing back to the original Visual Style as stated in the instructins and the following message was displayed:

 

Command:

Error during Publish: eWasErased

 

I did finish up and created the CONTENT file and tried bringing in the part to a pressure network. I was able to add the part to my parts list and select the size. But when I tried to use the command Add Appurtenance I was asked to select the location for the part. I selected the end of my pipe and nothing happened. I even dropped it in by itself and still nothing showed up for the part. I think this has to do with the error message but have no way of knowing why I got the message.

 

Has anyone encountered this problem as well or were you successful in creating the part? Solutions? Suggestions on how to get this to work?

 

Thanks,

Sid.



Contributor
mauserp08
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-17-2011
Message 2 of 13 (1,054 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 Part Publishing

08-09-2012 03:41 PM in reply to: mauserp08

After review the steps from the Part Publishing Wizard I decided to give it a go creating parts again. I was able to successfully create several parts that I have added to my parts library. I was then able to add them to my pressure pipe network and have not had any issues with them.

 

I still get the error message but it does not seem to affect the part or the network any. So far I have been able to create several bends and size as well as a fire hydrant assembly.

My guess on the error message is that it is a bug that displays the error message when no such thing has occurred. I would consider this issue resolved.


Thanks all.

Sid.

Active Member
TCCompany
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 3 of 13 (985 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 Part Publishing

09-25-2012 10:22 AM in reply to: mauserp08

Did that resolve the issue you had while adding valves nothing showed up.  I am having that problem.

Contributor
mauserp08
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-17-2011
Message 4 of 13 (929 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 Part Publishing

10-08-2012 07:11 AM in reply to: TCCompany

TCCompany,

Sorry for not getting back to sooner to your question. Yes it did solve the problem.

 

When I use the PUBLISHPARTCONTENT command I still get the error message but it appears to a bug. The part is displayed as a rendered part when the command finishes and C3D displays the error message. I am still able to import the CONTENT file that was created and use it as part of my library without any problems.

 

So far I have been able to create valves, elbows, and fire hydrants, 35 in all for now, without any problems using them. Just make sure that you have the AUTODESKCONNECTIONPOINT in your part and the PLINE or LINE that you use for your CENTERLINE ENTITY as well.

 

Let me know if you are able to get this to work for you or if you would like some help in getting this figured out.

Sid.

Member
mohsen62m
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-05-2012
Message 5 of 13 (845 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 Part Publishing

11-10-2012 02:05 AM in reply to: mauserp08

Hello mauserp08,

 

When I do PUBLISHPARTCONTENT command, I recieve the following error:

 

Command: PUBLISHPARTCONTENT Select a solid for publishing
:
Select a centerline ENTITY that represents the previously selected solid.
:
Specify the Measuring Unit [Inches/Millimeters] <Inches>: M

Specify the Part Type [Cap/COupling/CRoss/Elbow/Hydrant/Plug/PUmp/Reducer/Tee/Valve/Wye] <Elbow>: c
_VSCURRENT
Enter an option [2dwireframe/Wireframe/Hidden/Realistic/Conceptual/Shaded/shaded with Edges/shades of Gray/SKetchy/X-ray/Other] <2dwireframe>: _G
Command:
Error during Publish: Unable to cast COM object of type 'System.__ComObject' to interface type 'Autodesk.AutoCAD.Interop.AcadApplication'. This operation failed because the QueryInterface call on the COM component for the interface with IID '{070AA05D-DFC1-4E64-8379-432269B48B07}' failed due to the following error: No such interface supported (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004002 (E_NOINTERFACE)).

 

can you help me?

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,720
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 6 of 13 (841 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 Part Publishing

11-10-2012 02:27 AM in reply to: mauserp08
This is an error that the programming interface (likely .NET) throws. Errors like this should be caught by the code itself and not presented to you in this way. It would appear to be a bug or some strange configuration or hardware error on your side.

Remember that this tool is "undocumented". Undocumented tools are undocumented generally because they're not quite finished yet and could contain problems.

I would try again, maybe using a different approach, in any, then contact Autodesk if it happens again.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
mohsen62m
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-05-2012
Message 7 of 13 (819 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 Part Publishing

11-10-2012 09:01 PM in reply to: mauserp08

Dear mathewk,

 

Thanks for your answer.

But, if this error may be a hardware error, that means it may work in another computer?

Contributor
kathy.pendergast
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Message 8 of 13 (710 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 Part Publishing

12-04-2012 12:07 PM in reply to: mauserp08

it looks like you've been pretty sucessful at creating parts. I'm new to Civil 3D and solids.

I am trying to create a 8x6 tee and when I get to the publishing wizard I get this meassage. Must be an AutoCAD 3D SolidSelect a solid for publishing. Any suggestions?

Contributor
mauserp08
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-17-2011
Message 9 of 13 (702 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 Part Publishing

12-04-2012 02:38 PM in reply to: mauserp08

Hi Kathy,
Sorry it took me a while to get back to you. From what I can tell this is just a bug that really doesn't affect the creation of the content file. I have made several parts and have not had any issues with the creation of the CONTENT file even though I get this message. I have imported my content files that I created with no problems and have used the parts quite successfully in several projects. I am just ignoring the message since it is not really causing any problems.

Have you been able to import your CONTENT files and use the parts in your design?

Sid.

Contributor
kathy.pendergast
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Message 10 of 13 (677 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2013 Part Publishing

12-05-2012 02:51 PM in reply to: mauserp08

I tried publishing a part and got the following message.

 

error during Publish: Unable to cast COM object of type 'System.__ComObject'
to interface type 'Autodesk.AutoCAD.Interop.AcadApplication'. This operation failed
because the QueryInterface call on the COM component for the interface with
IID '{070AA05D-DFC1-4E64-8379-432269B48B07}' failed due to the following error:
No such interface supported (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004002 (E_NOINTERFACE)).

 

After looking this error up it looks like a 32 bit machine will not work for this process.

Any suggestions?

Kathy

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs