AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
rgerard
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-05-2011
Message 1 of 7 (1,300 Views)
Accepted Solution

Civil 3D 2012 Pipes do not Displaying in Profile, works correctly on 2 computers

1300 Views, 6 Replies
03-23-2012 07:22 AM

We are currently using 2012 Civil 3D, and we have a issue with a drawing that not all the Pipes from the pipe network are displaying in the Profile, and even the pipe properties display box the lengths show up way too long and the stationing does not display correctly in this pipe properties box either.

 

The Big Twist is that we have 2 machines in the offices that will display the drawing correctly, in profile view and pipe properties display box has correct lengths and stationing. So we know it is not styles, etc.

 

Direct support has suggested we un-install all Autodesk products and reinstall them all again, we tried the repair, however this did not work. Any other suggestions before we have to go through all this work, as we are looking a huge amount of downtime, and we do not think this is the issue. Perhaps a Civil 3D variable or Autocad variable is different? Hopefully someone else has experienced this problem and has some suggestions?

 

Thanks Roxanne

New Member
ryan_88
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-26-2010
Message 2 of 7 (1,299 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 Pipes do not Displaying in Profile, works correctly on 2 compu

03-23-2012 07:27 AM in reply to: rgerard

i too would like to know the answer to this vexing question....

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,738
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 7 (1,295 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 Pipes do not Displaying in Profile, works correctly on 2 compu

03-23-2012 08:02 AM in reply to: rgerard

IF you post a file we could poke arounf in it and offer solutions if they are known. What exaclty do you mean by, 'they don't display correctly'? Is this a style issue?

 

Have you checked to see if the profile view has a pipe style override assigned that hodes the pipe? Profile View Propoerties dialog box, Pipe Networks tab. Slide the horzontal scroll bar all the way to the left to see the style override column.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Member
rgerard
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-05-2011
Message 4 of 7 (1,291 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 Pipes do not Displaying in Profile, works correctly on 2 compu

03-23-2012 08:26 AM in reply to: rgerard

Thanks John,

 

I posted the file so you can take a look. We know it is not styles because it is displayed correctly on 2 of our computers, it shows up perfect in the profile view, however when you open it up on the other 4 machines, some of the pipes do not show up and if they do they are way too long. It is weird because in the 2 computers that it does show up correctly in, all the pipes properties are correct with starting and ending stationing being correct, however in the 4 machines that it does not display correctly, the pipes properties list the ending or starting stations depending on the pipe has some crazy numbers way too long by thousands of feet. The drawing is the same exact drawing file, just loaded on 2 different machine, yets displays and recognizes the pipes differently.

 

Thanks Roxanne

Member
rgerard
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-05-2011
Message 5 of 7 (1,277 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 Pipes do not Displaying in Profile, works correctly on 2 compu

03-23-2012 10:19 AM in reply to: rgerard

John,

 

We just now noticed that the 2 computers that the drawing works correctly on, do not have the latest service pack 1, the other 4 all had the sp1 installed, and they all have the same problem in the profile view. Do you think this could be our problem, there is a glitch in the service pack 1?

 

Roxanne

New Member
ryan_88
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-26-2010
Message 6 of 7 (1,272 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 Pipes do not Displaying in Profile, works correctly on 2 compu

03-23-2012 10:36 AM in reply to: rgerard

i can confirm that the problem is with service pack 1.

 

i removed all autodesk products from machine per the instruction found here:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=2887771&linkID=9240617

 

i then reinstalled Civil 3D 2012 without sp1 and the pipes displayed correctly, and the part properties (specifcally start and end stations) were correct.

 

i then installed sp1, reopend the drawing, and pipes were not displayed correctly, and part properties were incorrect.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18133124&linkID=9240698

 

i believe there is an issue with service pack 1.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,738
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (1,264 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 Pipes do not Displaying in Profile, works correctly on 2 compu

03-23-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: ryan_88

Glad you got it worked out!

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs