AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
dpa-ig
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-15-2011
Message 1 of 10 (3,292 Views)
Accepted Solution

Change template by another in the drawing

3292 Views, 9 Replies
02-14-2012 04:11 AM

Hi,

I have a drawing what have  a template by defect, and i would  change the original template by another in the same drawing.

Are there a way to do this?

Thanks in advance.  

*Expert Elite*
arturopolanco
Posts: 403
Registered: ‎08-22-2010
Message 2 of 10 (3,290 Views)

Re: Change template by another in the drawing

02-14-2012 04:52 AM in reply to: dpa-ig

To copy styles from a template file to another drawing

 

  1. On the Setting tab of Toolspace, expand Point Collection > Point Styles.
  2. Edit one of the listed styles.
  3. Click the Marker tab.
  4. Click Use AutoCAD BLOCK Symbol for Marker.
  5. Right-click in the Block list. Click Browse.
  6. In the Browse to File dialog box, select *.dwt from the Files of Type drop-down menu, and browse to your template file.
  7. Select the template file, and click Open.
  8. Click OK.

 

Any style that is not contained in the current drawing will be copied from the template.

Experto Elite de Autodesk
arturopolanco@mareldominicana.com.do
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,744
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 10 (3,282 Views)

Re: Change template by another in the drawing

02-14-2012 05:13 AM in reply to: arturopolanco

Major Kudos Arturo! Thats an amazing work around

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
arturopolanco
Posts: 403
Registered: ‎08-22-2010
Message 4 of 10 (3,280 Views)

Re: Change template by another in the drawing

02-14-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
thanks
Experto Elite de Autodesk
arturopolanco@mareldominicana.com.do
Distinguished Mentor
JeffPaulsen
Posts: 774
Registered: ‎09-01-2004
Message 5 of 10 (3,269 Views)

Re: Change template by another in the drawing

02-14-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: arturopolanco

Nice tip. Does it only work in C3D 2012? I tried it in 2009 and it didn't work but it definitely works in 2012.

Jeff Paulsen
Civil 3D 2012 SP3 | Win 7 64-bit SP1
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz, 16GB Ram | NVidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,174
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 10 (3,256 Views)

Re: Change template by another in the drawing

02-14-2012 06:31 AM in reply to: JeffPaulsen

That tip has been around since 2006.... super-secret-style-getter .... so it should work in 2009.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Distinguished Mentor
JeffPaulsen
Posts: 774
Registered: ‎09-01-2004
Message 7 of 10 (3,244 Views)

Re: Change template by another in the drawing

02-14-2012 07:12 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

I guess I it does work in 2009; however, you have to be patient.

 

I started it at home and did not see any styles added to the drawing. When I got in the office all the styles were there. I just started the process again and have been waiting 10 minutes and still do not see the point styles.

Jeff Paulsen
Civil 3D 2012 SP3 | Win 7 64-bit SP1
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz, 16GB Ram | NVidia Quadro 600
Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 254
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 8 of 10 (3,200 Views)

Re: Change template by another in the drawing

02-15-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: arturopolanco

That seems like a lot of extra steps.  Here is how we have been doing this:

 

  1. Create a drawing from the dwt.
  2. Insert drawing as a block. 


This will copy any styles that do not already exist in the current drawing.  It will not overwrite existing styles.  There are also some instances where expressions do not get copied correctly.

 

We have a library of style drawings that can be used to drag-and-drop sets of styles into a Civil 3D drawing as needed.

 

 

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
Valued Contributor
amar_mann
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎10-27-2008
Message 9 of 10 (2,762 Views)

Re: Change template by another in the drawing

11-19-2012 02:41 PM in reply to: arturopolanco

Something somewhat related to this post. I mistakely opened my template in student version. It had years of my work. And now I can not import the styles and settigns etc from it to the full version . I tried using the method you just advised (Autocad block for point marker) and also tried to import all the styles from Manage>Styles>Import. Nothing works. Any help would be appreciated

Distinguished Mentor
JeffPaulsen
Posts: 774
Registered: ‎09-01-2004
Message 10 of 10 (2,753 Views)

Re: Change template by another in the drawing

11-19-2012 04:32 PM in reply to: amar_mann

Find the last drawing you created using the template,erase everything out of it and save it as a dwt.

 

Keep a back up of your template in case this happens again.

Jeff Paulsen
Civil 3D 2012 SP3 | Win 7 64-bit SP1
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz, 16GB Ram | NVidia Quadro 600

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs