AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 10 (407 Views)

Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

407 Views, 9 Replies
10-05-2012 05:15 AM

I have a volume surface that I want cut & fill displayed with elevation banding. I created a surface style and chose pastels for the color scheme. When I analyze the surface I chose elevations>> range interval with datum and I get 2d solids but they are not pastel even though the style assigned is the one I mentioned.

 

How do I get the colors to be pastel?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,740
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 10 (395 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 07:16 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Did you recompute the surface analysis, i.e. add the ranges again?

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,740
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 10 (393 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Can you post or send a file? I just did this and it worked fine in 2012.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 10 (386 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: jmayo

Thanks John. Its on the way

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 5 of 10 (379 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

What color scheme are you getting instead of the pastels? That might be the key to finding which style or setting is off.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,740
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 10 (376 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 08:32 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

The elevation banding needs to be recomputed after seeing Joe's file.

 

In the Surface Properties dialog, Analysis tab, select Elevation Ranges, assign the number of desired ranges and then hit the chevron arrow to recompute/repopulate the computed slope ranges listed.

 

This is similar to the issue many of us had with label styles when we were learning C3D. We never hit the Arrow button to update the data.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 10 (372 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: jmayo

pastels.PNGOk. I’m a bigger dope than I thought. I’ve repopulated that button at least a dozen times and never get pastels? I can’t find the chevron because I only have a down arrow.

pastelscheme.PNG

 

 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 10 (371 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: KirkNoonan

Thanks Kirk,

 

I posted images to JM

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,740
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 10 (356 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 11:20 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

With Kirk's recommendation and Joe's sleuthing we can see that users do not have the ability to edit the fields that need to be edited.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 10 of 10 (347 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: jmayo

I'll open an SR on Monday.

Thanks

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs