AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,873
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 21 of 30 (99 Views)

Re: Calculating side slope

03-20-2014 07:57 AM in reply to: getrekdent
Worry not.

Now you correct me. Your earlier picture only shows points along your alignment. Are these the only point that make your surface? By the looks of your earlier picture the answer is yes.

If that is true, what side slope are you trying to obtain? Proposed existing?
A line of points does not have sufficient data to explaing the 14 meter width and determine either existing or proposed side slope.

So if I understand what you have correctly and alignment with elevation along it and no elevation data left or right of it, then there is no way to determine anything other than the longitudinal grade along the alignment.

Draw a cross section and label what you have and what you want?
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
getrekdent
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎07-05-2013
Message 22 of 30 (97 Views)

Re: Calculating side slope

03-20-2014 08:12 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
Yes you are correct, these are the only points I believe; I will explain a bit, we received a GIS file with the bid package when I loaded the .Shp file to civil all that was displayed was a 2 dimensional layout of right of way and temporary work spaces, above this was one line that appeared to be the line which contained the survey point data (x,y,z). I was able to extract the x,y,z points from this file into notepad and save them as a .xyz file and load them into a Civil 3D survey points database. (sorry I am not well versed in this maybe I am rambling) When I imported the extracted points into civil and created the surface from the new points file it appears to be exactly what I was looking for. I have found one way I am not sure how accurate it is but I created an offset (7 meters each side of the center line) then plotted random points along each of these offsets and manually extracted the "Z" coordinate from each point for the elevation. Another thing I wonder is how accurate is this extracted data from the GIS file and how can this program build the surface it has off of one line of points?
Active Contributor
getrekdent
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎07-05-2013
Message 23 of 30 (97 Views)

Re: Calculating side slope

03-20-2014 08:16 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Img 1.png

Img 2.png

Img 1.png

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,873
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 24 of 30 (88 Views)

Re: Calculating side slope

03-20-2014 08:44 AM in reply to: getrekdent

getrekdent wrote:
Yes you are correct, these are the only points I believe; I will explain a bit, we received a GIS file with the bid package when I loaded the .Shp file to civil all that was displayed was a 2 dimensional layout of right of way and temporary work spaces, above this was one line that appeared to be the line which contained the survey point data (x,y,z). I was able to extract the x,y,z points from this file into notepad and save them as a .xyz file and load them into a Civil 3D survey points database. (sorry I am not well versed in this maybe I am rambling) When I imported the extracted points into civil and created the surface from the new points file it appears to be exactly what I was looking for. I have found one way I am not sure how accurate it is but I created an offset (7 meters each side of the center line) then plotted random points along each of these offsets and manually extracted the "Z" coordinate from each point for the elevation. Another thing I wonder is how accurate is this extracted data from the GIS file and how can this program build the surface it has off of one line of points?

Not accurate at all!

Any elevation data left or right of your "Line" is absolutly and totally meaningless. the only reason you got a surface in the shape you have is because you line serpentines and center line point are triangulating to other centerline points. So unfortunately there is no data to determine a side slope.

 

You should, however be able to obtain topographic data in your region from some GIS clearing house or local jurisdiction entity. Where did you get the original data for the line? perhaps that source has more?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
getrekdent
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎07-05-2013
Message 25 of 30 (83 Views)

Re: Calculating side slope

03-20-2014 09:07 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
Okay thank you, The file was supplied with the package and unfortunately that's all they are willing to supply. I tried plotting more random points along the surface and checking the elevation's of them, they do seem to correspond with the profiles we were supplied with. There is no chance these random plotted points are accurate even within a smaller range?
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,873
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 26 of 30 (70 Views)

Re: Calculating side slope

03-20-2014 10:28 AM in reply to: getrekdent
Doubtful.
There must be some paper maps of this vacinity you could acquire with topo that you could scan and overlay, no?

I would not trust any elevations other than the ones in the alignment
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
getrekdent
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎07-05-2013
Message 27 of 30 (67 Views)

Re: Calculating side slope

03-20-2014 10:59 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
If I buy digital topo's would that work? I believe I can find them for the area.
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,873
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 28 of 30 (52 Views)

Re: Calculating side slope

03-20-2014 12:40 PM in reply to: getrekdent
We all try to perform our Due Diligence, so if that is the only data available to you then you did your part.

IMHO it would be suitable for the task. What digital is is subjective. Is it a "digital paper topo or a GIS database with all the trimmings? Either way your heading in the correct direction.
GIS= instant surface
Paper Map = some digitizing
Find out what you are paying for, and great luck to you. You are on track now
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
getrekdent
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎07-05-2013
Message 29 of 30 (45 Views)

Re: Calculating side slope

03-20-2014 01:54 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
Thank you so much for all of your help! I feel much more confident now :smileyhappy:
Once again sorry for all of the confusion!!
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,873
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 30 of 30 (40 Views)

Re: Calculating side slope

03-20-2014 02:37 PM in reply to: getrekdent
No Worries. I appologize if I roughed you up.
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.