AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
mjung
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎09-14-2006
Message 11 of 17 (522 Views)

Re: Calc Area in Acres

03-01-2012 07:13 AM in reply to: dsigman

Thanks for the Line Label tip DSIGMAN!!!!

 

I've been looking for something like this. Being able to display the area dynamically without having to convert to a Parcel is great. My polyligns were overlapping and like an earlier post stated the overlapping Parcels don't play well. Tried the field method but it's to cumbersome to add new labels to other objects.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Civil 3D 2012
Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
Intel Xeon W5580 @3.20GHz
12gig RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600
Active Contributor
dsigman
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 12 of 17 (507 Views)

Re: Calc Area in Acres

03-01-2012 12:20 PM in reply to: mjung

You're welcome.

Valued Contributor
randyowens3203
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Message 13 of 17 (460 Views)

Re: Calc Area in Acres

04-17-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: dsigman

This could be just what I'm looking for. But, is there a way to keep it from labeling every single line segment in the bpoly? Also, I can not keep the label from including the tag number.

Randy A. Owens
Southland Engineering, Inc.
Win 7 64BIT
C3D 2013
Active Contributor
dsigman
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 14 of 17 (449 Views)

Re: Calc Area in Acres

04-17-2012 07:27 AM in reply to: randyowens3203

I just label a closed polyline on any one of the segments and the label returns the area. I've configured it for square feet and acres. I used the General Overall Area variable to create it.

 

I'm not sure what you're getting at with the tag number. In the Label Style Composer, in the Tabel Tag group, I suspect you may have the "Used In" setting set to "Label and Tag Modes"  instead of just "tag mode":

 

I'll try to attach screen shots of the settings I used.

Valued Contributor
randyowens3203
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Message 15 of 17 (442 Views)

Re: Calc Area in Acres

04-17-2012 07:39 AM in reply to: dsigman

I've got it now. Thanks.

Randy A. Owens
Southland Engineering, Inc.
Win 7 64BIT
C3D 2013
Employee
dana.probert
Posts: 1,261
Registered: ‎04-19-2006
Message 16 of 17 (426 Views)

Re: Calc Area in Acres

04-17-2012 09:34 AM in reply to: castled071049

Here is an old (but still good) post using line labels for elevations. At the end, I have an example using a line area label for silt fence.

 

http://civil3drocks.blogspot.com/2006/06/label-style-for-calling-out-elevation.html

Dana Probert, P.E.
Technical Marketing Manager, Civil Engineering
Autodesk
Blog: BIM on the Rocks
Learn More About BIM for Infrastructure
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 17 of 17 (415 Views)

Re: Calc Area in Acres

04-17-2012 03:34 PM in reply to: castled071049

I've been getting frustrated in C3D 2011/2012 by the fact that some Parcel curve labels have incorrect deltas...  Seems to happen most when using large coordinate values, such as ones related to State Plane.  I think it's created by a precision error, which causes C3D Parcels to include erroneous extra very tine curve segments (with 0.000 length, but a delta angle) that gets "added" to the value shown in the label.  Very disturbing, since it can cause plats to show incorrect delta angles in curves, and the problem is very hard to catch.

 

Just really confused by how I never had this problem in C3D 2010 and earlier...

Sinc

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs