AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
New Member
tdinkins
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2013
Message 1 of 6 (423 Views)
Accepted Solution

C3D to HecRAS export issues

423 Views, 5 Replies
12-02-2013 01:10 PM

I am trying to use the "Export to HEC RAS" output tool in C3D 2011 and have come across a strange problem. I know that CAD and HECRAS view alignments in opposite directions (CAD - stationing from upstream to downstream, HECRAS - stationing from downstream to upstream), and understand the process of utlizing "GIS Tools" within RAS to reverse the flow direction. However, I am having a issue with georeferencing the alignment and cross sections during the "Import Geometry Data"_"GIS Format."

 

Once I click the "Finished-Import Data" within the Import Geometry Data dialogue, my stream alignment does not extend all the way to my most downstream cross section, and I'm getting an error message saying...

 

"Some of the cross sections on the schematic are drawn outside the reach bounds. This indicates that the river/reach network has not been georeferenced and/or all of the cross sections have not been georeferenced."

(see screen shot attachment below)

 

The two cross sections that are outside the reach bounds show up in the profile view and cross section editor view.

 

If I ignore the error message and click "Remove GeoReferencing" I lose the ability to "flip Coord Order" of the reach lines and cut lines. This is problematic becuase I can't get my reach stationing or cut line orientation fixed.

 

If anyone has come across this problem and knows a fix/work around, your input would be greatly appreciated.

 

thanks,

 

TC

Active Contributor
Wilbers2013
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 2 of 6 (387 Views)

Re: C3D to HecRAS export issues

12-04-2013 02:36 AM in reply to: tdinkins

Will it be possible to post a drawing?

___________________
Civil 3D 2011 & 2013
ArcGIS 10.1
Active Contributor
Wilbers2013
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 3 of 6 (375 Views)

Re: C3D to HecRAS export issues

12-04-2013 06:32 AM in reply to: Wilbers2013

Check if your alignment and/of some of the cross-sections goes over the edge of the surface.  We have had problems with that.

___________________
Civil 3D 2011 & 2013
ArcGIS 10.1
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,737
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 6 (358 Views)

Re: C3D to HecRAS export issues

12-05-2013 11:08 AM in reply to: tdinkins
I find Robert Stelmans River Tools better suited for c3d to hec ras and back.
John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,737
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 6 (355 Views)

Re: C3D to HecRAS export issues

12-05-2013 11:09 AM in reply to: tdinkins
If ur interested
http://www.rsteltman.com/
John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
New Member
tdinkins
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2013
Message 6 of 6 (352 Views)

Re: C3D to HecRAS export issues

12-05-2013 11:26 AM in reply to: tdinkins

I was able to solve the problem.

 

Apparently something was funky with my alignment. I solved it by creating a copy of the alignment by a simple 1ft offset away from and the a 1ft offset back. I used this polyline to create a new alignment/sections and bingo!

 

Who knows what was screwed up with the initial alignment...

 

TC

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs