AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
lhampton
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
Message 1 of 12 (289 Views)
Accepted Solution

C3D 2014 .dwg , "out of memmory" in C3D 2013

289 Views, 11 Replies
11-20-2013 08:28 AM

Yesterday I encountered yet another (sigh) bug in the C3D 2013, some .dwg's saved out of 2014 will cause a "out of memory" shutdown error in civil 2013. The drawing im talking about has a very small surface in it with some line work. When I save it in 2014 then try and open it in 2013, 2013 locks up, eats all my memory, then crashes with "out of memory" (see screenshot).

 

BUT, if you "Export to dwg" then try and open the dwg, it works. Unfortunately this isnt a fix, because then we loose all the styles associated with the drawing.

 

See, I would include the file but it contains all of our styles, and since we spent so much money creating them, I cannot share them. If a Autodesk professional (do they actually hang out on the forums?) would like to see the file I can e-mail it.

Intel i7 2600 /z68 Gigabyte
8gigs DDR3 1800
Intel 320 Series SSD
Quadro 600 (1gig)
C3D 2013 / LDT 2009 / Win7 x64
Active Contributor
lhampton
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
Message 2 of 12 (280 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 .dwg , "out of memmory" in C3D 2013

11-20-2013 08:38 AM in reply to: lhampton
Also, the Dwg, and been audited, recovered, purged, -pu the whole works. Still crashes 2013.
Intel i7 2600 /z68 Gigabyte
8gigs DDR3 1800
Intel 320 Series SSD
Quadro 600 (1gig)
C3D 2013 / LDT 2009 / Win7 x64
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,171
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 12 (276 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 .dwg , "out of memmory" in C3D 2013

11-20-2013 08:47 AM in reply to: lhampton

An FYI, most likely anyone here that may be able to help already has their own styles setup to their liking, therefor will have no interest or desire to use/borrow yours. There have been many discussions about this over the years, most ending with the same thoughts.... Now, if you are that concerned about it, you do know about the Purge Styles command? Set all of the default styles to Standard then purge out yours.... 

 

I've gotten drawings from many others and have never shared or used any of the information in them other than helping them to figure out a problem. I'm not with Autodesk, but I am an Authorized Developer with ADN. So if you'd like, I will take a look and see if I can shed some light, otherwise you may want to open a support case with Autodesk through your Subscription site. My email: jeffm AT quuxsoft DOT com

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Contributor
lhampton
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
Message 4 of 12 (270 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 .dwg , "out of memmory" in C3D 2013

11-20-2013 09:01 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Thanks Jeff, I just emailed you the file.

Intel i7 2600 /z68 Gigabyte
8gigs DDR3 1800
Intel 320 Series SSD
Quadro 600 (1gig)
C3D 2013 / LDT 2009 / Win7 x64
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 486
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 5 of 12 (265 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 .dwg , "out of memmory" in C3D 2013

11-20-2013 09:15 AM in reply to: lhampton
If you log a support ticket directly with Autodesk, you can upload the file directly to them. But as previously stated, I wouldn't worry about sharing styles. We all spent lots of time/effort creating our own.
Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, evaluating C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 486
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 6 of 12 (260 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 .dwg , "out of memmory" in C3D 2013

11-20-2013 09:19 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer
Although I readily share my templates with anyone who wants them. :-) BTW - I tried to edit my post, but the "options" button only takes me back to the top of the page.
Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, evaluating C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,171
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 7 of 12 (248 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 .dwg , "out of memmory" in C3D 2013

11-20-2013 10:35 AM in reply to: lhampton

There is something in one of the Grading objects that C3D2013 does not like. Exploding the gradings and adding the resulting 3dpolylines into the surface allows the drawing to open fine in 2013. I'm not sure which grading it was, as I exploded all 3 of them.

 

The good news is that this tells me they have improved the stability of Gradings in 2014. The bad news is that it looks like you can't work on some drawings in 2013 that have gradings created/edited in 2014.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,677
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 12 (234 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 .dwg , "out of memmory" in C3D 2013

11-20-2013 10:56 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

"The good news is that this tells me they have improved the stability of Gradings in 2014. The bad news is that it looks like you can't work on some drawings in 2013 that have gradings created/edited in 2014."

 

I 've done one test on a simple detention basin in 14 and don't really care to test another... :smileysurprised:

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Active Contributor
lhampton
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
Message 9 of 12 (223 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 .dwg , "out of memmory" in C3D 2013

11-20-2013 11:19 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Thanks for looking at it Jeff. We went back into the '14 dwg and killed the grading objects, saved and then it would open fine in '13. It would be nice if autodesk warned us about these things, but then again you cant expect a whole lot out of autodesk.

 

Thanks for looking.

Intel i7 2600 /z68 Gigabyte
8gigs DDR3 1800
Intel 320 Series SSD
Quadro 600 (1gig)
C3D 2013 / LDT 2009 / Win7 x64
Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,086
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 10 of 12 (185 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 .dwg , "out of memmory" in C3D 2013

11-20-2013 03:35 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

The good news is that this tells me they have improved the stability of Gradings in 2014. 

 


How do you come to that conclusion?

 

My experience was like John's. After a sending off a couple CER reports to Autodesk after hard crashing, I was done with testing grading objects in 2014. Never heard anything from Autodesk either on it.

 

Maybe you mean in relative terms between 2013 and 2014... but that isn't saying much...

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs