AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,487
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 7 (336 Views)

C3D 2013 & dll's

336 Views, 6 Replies
04-04-2012 03:32 AM

Seems like all my existing dll's won't work in C3D 2013 without some code alterations - fantastic......!!!!!!

 

A small QA point - someone didn't check the names on the panels to ensure consistency. I know its a minor thing that's easily fixed but come on AutoDesk

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 3,983
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 7 (279 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 & dll's

04-04-2012 06:53 AM in reply to: neilyj

Many customization files targeting C3D have needed to be recompiled for new versions every year. Those that didn't were able to be done using strictly .NET API.objects. But the AutoCAD 2013 API has undergone major changes, and C3D2013 has also made major changes in the API. So ALL .NET DLL's wiil not only need to be recompiled for 2013, but they will also need to undergo some code updates before compiling.

 

Not sure I'm seeing what you are about the names.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,487
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 7 (262 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 & dll's

04-04-2012 07:27 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Jeff_M wrote:

Many customization files targeting C3D have needed to be recompiled for new versions every year. Those that didn't were able to be done using strictly .NET API.objects. But the AutoCAD 2013 API has undergone major changes, and C3D2013 has also made major changes in the API. So ALL .NET DLL's wiil not only need to be recompiled for 2013, but they will also need to undergo some code updates before compiling.

 

..thus rendering all the dll's I use in 2012 useless.....:smileysad:


 

Not sure I'm seeing what you are about the names.


Inconsistency with the naming i.e TRIM rather than Trim and fillet rather than Fillet - I've got the European English version so could be different to yours. I've fixed it now anyway - and put the Volumes calculation back on the Ribbon

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,487
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 7 (221 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 & dll's

04-04-2012 01:27 PM in reply to: neilyj

Jeff

 

A few months ago you modified some Autodesk supplied code to run as a dll (C3D Working Plane) - would you be able to update for 2013??

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D-Customization/Working-Plane-Grading-tools/m-p/3310593...

 

Thanks

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 3,983
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 5 of 7 (208 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 & dll's

04-04-2012 01:53 PM in reply to: neilyj

On my list of things to do. Now, if only I would be provided with the 2013 download on Subscription center....not sure of when I may be able to do this. (But probably fairly soon.)

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,487
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 7 (203 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 & dll's

04-04-2012 01:57 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

That'd be great if you could manage it,,,,my subscription download worked first time using the download manager today

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 3,983
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 7 of 7 (195 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 & dll's

04-04-2012 02:24 PM in reply to: neilyj

Still not even available to me on Subscription....

 

However, since I have other means available (ADN) have a look HERE

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs