AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
rwhip12
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-10-2006
Message 1 of 8 (96 Views)

C3D 2011 not loading

96 Views, 7 Replies
05-03-2012 02:17 PM

When I start C3D 2011, it starts to load and then freezes once it gets to loading AEC Point Cloud and the acad.dwt.  It started to do this once I set Hardware Accelerator to be on. It will load about 40% and then totally hose my entire computer.  And of course now it won't load so I can't shut the setting off. Anyone seen this?

 

TIA

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,866
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 8 (93 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 not loading

05-03-2012 03:11 PM in reply to: rwhip12

Hi,

 

I don't understand how AutoCAD is on the way to start, the acad.dwt is not loaded but access to a point-cloud is active/is to be loaded.

May be this is not interesting at the moment. Open Windows-TaskManager, look if there is a process called like WsCommCntrl*, if so and if that is using processor power ==> kill it, and then look back to AutoCAD how it works now.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
rwhip12
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-10-2006
Message 3 of 8 (80 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 not loading

05-04-2012 05:47 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

The problem is....when the program freezes it completely freezes my computer.  Task manager will not open, crosshairs are frozen.  I actually have to turn the computer off with the start button.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,866
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 8 (77 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 not loading

05-04-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: rwhip12

Hi,

 

>> [...] it completely freezes my computer

extremly unusual that the computer freezes at all, or it's some hardware or hardware-driver issue.

So what sysinfos do you have (processor, graphiccard + gc-memory, main memory, operating system).

 

Did Civil3D run already and the problems came up later or have you just installed it?

What happens if you login with another user-account to your Windows and try Civil3D again?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,575
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 8 (74 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 not loading

05-04-2012 06:38 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

1] restart the machine in Safe Mode

2] log in as admin

3] first, run Task Manager, and set its visibility as "Always on top"

4] after, run Autocad

 

Now you should be able to switch off every undesidered setting, and eventually kill the acad.exe process. 

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,175
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 8 (71 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 not loading

05-04-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: rwhip12

You can turn off the Hardware Acceleration at startup by editing the Target in the shortcut used to start C3D. It should look like this in the Properties for the shortcut:

 

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\acad.exe" /ld "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\AecBase.dbx" /p "<<C3D_Imperial>>"

 

At the end of this, add a space then /nohardware 

This will disable HA for the session, but will not alter the setting in th eregistry. So be sure to turn it off in the settings. Once the settings are setyou can remove the /nohardware switch.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Contributor
rwhip12
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-10-2006
Message 7 of 8 (67 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 not loading

05-04-2012 07:06 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

ooooh.. going to try this right now

Contributor
rwhip12
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-10-2006
Message 8 of 8 (62 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 not loading

05-04-2012 07:32 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Jeff

 

awesome!  it worked.  I can now get back into the program and worked.  :smileyhappy:

 

Rick

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs