AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Topher5000
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎12-11-2008
Message 1 of 8 (393 Views)
Accepted Solution

C3D 2010 .sid files shift if view rotated

393 Views, 7 Replies
02-01-2013 11:58 AM

When I rotate my view in drawings containing .sid orthos, the orthos shift.  This also happens when I rotate the view in a viewport.  I've attached a couple screen caps showing the problem.  Any ideas how to fix this?

*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 2 of 8 (391 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 .sid files shift if view rotated

02-01-2013 12:07 PM in reply to: Topher5000

have you tried plotting the view to see if it corrects itself?

 

have you searched this forum for other related posts?

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,206
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 8 (384 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 .sid files shift if view rotated

02-01-2013 12:33 PM in reply to: Topher5000

If I'm not mistaking, this was an issue in 2010.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Valued Contributor
Topher5000
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎12-11-2008
Message 4 of 8 (377 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 .sid files shift if view rotated

02-01-2013 01:23 PM in reply to: TRogers

I searched for 'sid shift'.  The closest thing to a fix was turning perspective on & off, but the UCS icon turns into the 3D icon & polylines with width aren't filled.

It doesn't plot out correctly either (see attached).

I've read posts that it could be the file size (the one I'm using is big - about 4.2gb) & that it also happens in C3D 2010.

Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 776
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 5 of 8 (335 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 .sid files shift if view rotated

02-05-2013 07:16 AM in reply to: Topher5000

I have seen this behavior with the 2010 version if there is a viewport that has a DVIEW Twist applied to the viewport. I believe this was fixed in later releases. If you are using the DVIEW in the viewport, set the rotation to some 90 degree increment (0, 90, or 180) and see if the image lines back up with the linework as expected. Also see if you can bypass Data Connect and just insert the image into the drawing using "Insert Image". 



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
Valued Contributor
Topher5000
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎12-11-2008
Message 6 of 8 (328 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 .sid files shift if view rotated

02-05-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

Hi again Almas.

I've tried inserting it with mapiinsert, a straight image insert & then scaling & positioning it, using the FDO connection, & xrefing it into another drawing, but it still does it.  I was going to move my linework to match the aerial in the viewports but the apparent position changes depending on how far I'm zoomed in.  Is there anything else to try?  We've got a public meeting coming up & I need to get this sorted out.

Valued Contributor
Topher5000
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎12-11-2008
Message 7 of 8 (308 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 .sid files shift if view rotated

02-06-2013 09:30 AM in reply to: Topher5000

Got it working.

I downloaded GeoViewer from Lizardtech, opened the sid file & zoomed into the area I needed.  I then exported the current view to a geotiff file with a world file.  I did this along my route for total of 26 tiffs.  Each one has a resolution of 3463x2406 pixels.

For some reason they didn't end up in the exact same location as the original so I had to move my e/p linework to match, but, eh, it works.  The ortho no longer shifts around as I zoom in & out & rotate my view.  As a bonus, opening, saving & zooming is quicker & smoother.

New Member
SteveXXX
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-28-2014
Message 8 of 8 (30 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 .sid files shift if view rotated

06-28-2014 10:05 AM in reply to: Topher5000

Having same proble of viewport image shift using geolocate aerial.  Brought the image into individual sheets and move the xref line work to match image worked.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs