AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
tbronson
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-29-2004
Message 1 of 8 (223 Views)

C3D 2010 Linework curve codes

223 Views, 7 Replies
01-09-2013 08:53 AM

I'm having issues making the curve linework code BC and EC work.  As I understand if I start a line with a code of 'EP BC' and follow it with any number of 'EP' codes and finally end with 'EP EC' it should create a figure with a curve drawn through each point.  Similiar to the pline fit command.  This is not happening.  I am getting the curve drawn through the first three points, then straight lines connecting the rest.  Any suggestions?

Todd

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 533
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 2 of 8 (219 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 Linework curve codes

01-09-2013 09:05 AM in reply to: tbronson
Just curious on what your edge of concrete code iis, if EC, might need to switch end curve in linework code set. Since you would have edge of concrete and end curve being the same. We use PC and PT for curve linework.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 3 of 8 (202 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 Linework curve codes

01-09-2013 11:20 AM in reply to: tbronson

I think your understanding of it might be the problem here.   I read it as only accepting 3 points for a simple curve code.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Member
KenPrzybysz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-21-2009
Message 4 of 8 (198 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 Linework curve codes

01-09-2013 11:30 AM in reply to: tbronson

You may need to use OC on the intermediate curve shots. Last item on the Linework Code Set.

Contributor
tbronson
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-29-2004
Message 5 of 8 (186 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 Linework curve codes

01-09-2013 12:50 PM in reply to: KenPrzybysz

No and No.  You can use a BC code then as many figure names (ie: EB) as you like, then end with an EC.  I don't know why, but I changed the BC and EC code to PC and PT as suggested and it works great.  FYI, I am using number figure names (31,32,33... is concrete, 41,42...is gravel).  I am now having issues with it drawing lines between all my tree points.  Not sure how to correct this.  Trees are coded 410 12 (where 410 is code for Oak and 12 is caliper in inches).  I'm sure the line issue is because C3D sees the 410 as an iteration of the gravel code.  Any suggestions on this one?

Contributor
J_Seeds
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 6 of 8 (173 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 Linework curve codes

01-09-2013 05:31 PM in reply to: tbronson

Is it just stringing the 12" trees together? If so my guess would be that you have (12) defined as a figure in your figure prefix database.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,711
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 7 of 8 (167 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 Linework curve codes

01-09-2013 07:30 PM in reply to: tbronson
Since you have 41 as gravel, 410 is probably being seen as gravel since it begins with 41. These are called figure "prefixes" for a reason. It's like having TR for trees and TRAIL. Since they both begin with TR you may run into problems.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Contributor
tbronson
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-29-2004
Message 8 of 8 (148 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 Linework curve codes

01-10-2013 09:20 AM in reply to: mathewk

Yes Matt, I think this is exactly what is happening.  But what changes do I need to make to fix it?  Our field crews use a data collector that has a numeric pad (it's an older Trimble CU) hence the use of the numeric code system.  Typing letters involves several extra key clicks for each letter.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs