AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
SOUTHMING
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-09-2012
Message 1 of 7 (760 Views)

Building Pad and Corridor Grading

760 Views, 6 Replies
08-09-2012 06:57 AM

The building pad I made does not tie to my corridor grading. I have the EG surface, my pad PG surface trageting the EG, the corridor is targeting the EG (can't find a way to target both the EG and PG?)

 

What am I doing wrong? Thank you!

 

earth.jpg

Mentor
dasindog
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Message 2 of 7 (755 Views)

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 07:02 AM in reply to: SOUTHMING

I would usually have a Finished Ground surface. Paste your grading group surface and add your building pad feature line to that surface along with an outer boundary and everything should triangulate the way you want.

-Dustin
Civil 3D 2013 64 bit SP1
Windows 7 Pro 64
Intel Xeon 2.93GHz
24GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
explodetheblock.wordpress.com
*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 3 of 7 (749 Views)

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: SOUTHMING

it's not very clear what is going on based on the information provided.   A picture of the corridor properties might be helpful.   also a picture identifying the building pad.   I doubt it's necessary to target two surfaces with the same sub assembly.   Give more pertinent information and people should be able to help.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,763
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 4 of 7 (746 Views)

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 07:37 AM in reply to: dgordon

According to Toolspace as Dustin related there is no Final Surface.

 

1.  Make a new surface. (Final Surface)

2.  Paste E. Surface into it.

3. Paste the other surfaces in.

 

Remember the last paste will override the previous.

 

Bill

 

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,753
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 7 (744 Views)

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: SOUTHMING

Just to clarify the other reponses a bit.

 

Make a new surface. Paste in the EG and paste in the corridor surface to form a new target surface that blends the EG and roadway.

 

The residential grading can tie into this new surface.

 

Data references or vault could be used to share this surface with the project so the residential grading is in a different file.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
New Member
SOUTHMING
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-09-2012
Message 6 of 7 (740 Views)

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 08:00 AM in reply to: jmayo

Thanks. Ah, I created an empty Final surface. (tin surface?) On the tool space it does not give an right click option to "copy" the Existing topo or pad surface.

 

I guess I could combine one of the proposed surfaces (pad or corridor) to the existing grade to make one target surface manually.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,218
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 7 of 7 (737 Views)

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 08:36 AM in reply to: SOUTHMING

Paste, not copy....:

8-9-2012 8-35-54 AM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs