AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
Heisman
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 1 of 11 (1,597 Views)

Building Models in AutoCAD for Topcon GPS

1597 Views, 10 Replies
04-26-2012 12:04 PM

Hey everybody,

 

I work for a construction contractor and we currently have another company build models for our GPS files. We get the CAD drawings for the project from our state DOT and we then give these files to the person who builds the models for us.  These files then go on our Data collectors or the computers in our heavy equipment and are used for layout, alignment, grading, elevations, etc. 

 

Seeing as this usually costs us more than $1500 a project I've decided I would eventually like to be able to do this for our company.  Unfortunately, I've been having trouble finding any tutorials, training, or even information on the process of creating these models.  Does anyone here have experience with this or could point me in the right direction?  I suppose I could continue to attempt to teach myself the entire process but it would be nice to get a solid foundation from an expert. 

 

I hope I've explained that well enough.

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,468
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 11 (1,586 Views)

Re: Building Models in AutoCAD for Topcon GPS

04-26-2012 02:33 PM in reply to: Heisman

The firstest place to look is to your local Autodesk reseller, one who specializes in Civil applications. They will have staff available for consulting/training.

 

Next would be a remote Autodesk reseller or consultant who can work with you via an internet connection and a telephone. This forum is not really meant for making business connections, so if you want to talk further about this, you can contact me outside the forum, by telephone 530.221.2994 or email tcorey@shasta.com.

 

Also, there is an Autodesk classifieds new group where it is appropriate to post requests for services or to offer services.

 

One thing to watch for: Some firms who specialize in training will try to force a multi-day class down your throat. That's good for them, but not necessary for you. If you're comfortable around the computer and AutoCAD, a one-to-two day class should suffice to prepare you to create your own models, depending on the complexity of the projects. Discuss that with the training firm before agreeing to a course.

 

You probably are going to want custom training so you don't go to a training center and sit there creating parcels and adjusting traverses when what you need is the ins and outs of surfaces, grading, and probably corridors. Be sure to tell the trainer if you need to model roads with superelevation as that will add another few hours to the class.

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

 

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,757
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 3 of 11 (1,564 Views)

Re: Building Models in AutoCAD for Topcon GPS

04-27-2012 05:26 AM in reply to: Heisman

I have a different method than Tim.  My Topcon supplier is  Hayes Instrument and they offer expert advice to handle this process and quit frankly make it rather simple.

 

Bill

 

 

Active Member
Heisman
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 4 of 11 (1,562 Views)

Re: Building Models in AutoCAD for Topcon GPS

04-27-2012 05:31 AM in reply to: wfberry

Thanks for the info guys I appreciate it.  I'll look into those options.

Distinguished Contributor
dibr0804
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 5 of 11 (1,557 Views)

Re: Building Models in AutoCAD for Topcon GPS

04-27-2012 06:50 AM in reply to: Heisman

For machine control files I used C3D 2012 and get the Trimble add on to export surface files.. I am not sure if these surface files would work with Topcon but the linework and stakeout files should.  I actually just wrote a 12 page paper on this for my thesis.  As long as you can get your surface files out and create your linework files thats all you really need, along with a calibration file (for what I do anyway) I also use site vision office to set up the projects.

Active Member
Heisman
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 6 of 11 (1,554 Views)

Re: Building Models in AutoCAD for Topcon GPS

04-27-2012 07:00 AM in reply to: dibr0804

Maybe reading you're Thesis would be a good start :smileyhappy:

Distinguished Contributor
dibr0804
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 7 of 11 (1,552 Views)

Re: Building Models in AutoCAD for Topcon GPS

04-27-2012 07:02 AM in reply to: Heisman

Yea, I wrote about using cad files with gps.  If you would like I could send it to you and see if it helps you at all.

Distinguished Contributor
dibr0804
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 8 of 11 (1,550 Views)

Re: Building Models in AutoCAD for Topcon GPS

04-27-2012 07:10 AM in reply to: tcorey

To what Corey said about training, if you know Civil 3D real well you could probably learn how to set the rest of the stuff in a few hours. Most of the work is in cad itself and then you just have to learn how to get the usable files you need out of it, whether it be a .tin or .ttm file, etc... The rest is just importing it into another program to write the cards for the machines and put it into data collectors.

Active Member
Heisman
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 9 of 11 (1,540 Views)

Re: Building Models in AutoCAD for Topcon GPS

04-27-2012 09:43 AM in reply to: dibr0804

Sent you a PM, thanks.

New Member
ricr
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-16-2013
Message 10 of 11 (1,229 Views)

Re: Building Models in AutoCAD for Topcon GPS

01-16-2013 08:46 AM in reply to: Heisman

@Heisman,

 

I found this post and see that it is a few months old.

 

I am in the exact same situation and I was wondering if you found any good resources?

 

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs