Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best fit cylinder to survey points

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
2545 Views, 9 Replies

Best fit cylinder to survey points

Exciting times, first ever post on this forum.

Was hoping someone with more ACAD knowledge could help me out...

Problem: I'm a surveyor and majority of jobs I do is at a refinery where we survey pipes using a total station. With some of these pipes being out of reach, I'm wanting to survey random points anywhere on the surface of this pipe and then do a best-fit cylinder in civil 3d to these surveyed points (in doing so I'll have a 3d pipe to work with in ACAD). 

I would be very appreciative of any help, please let me know if you need me to go into more detail. 

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Sinc
in reply to: Anonymous

I created something like that a few years back, but it was done as a special commission for a client in Australia.  Feel free to contact me if you want at "sinc at quuxsoft dot com", and maybe we can work something out, but I have to get permission from the client who commissioned the original creation of the code before I can share it.

Sinc
Message 3 of 10
Buzz12345

I don't think you'll find anything out of the box in Civil3d, but you might want to check out the Point Cloud feature extraction tool which has recently graduated from Labs to a subscription Productivity Tool For C3D 2012 (see http://subscription.autodesk.com/sp/servlet/download/item?siteID=11564774&id=19407011).  I suspect that it will work best with lots of points (it's expecting data from a scanner).  I haven't got it installed, so I'm not sure if it does cylinder modelling.