AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
pserpas
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Message 1 of 5 (1,509 Views)
Accepted Solution

Batch Convert v.2012 .dwg Files to 2009 .dwg?

1509 Views, 4 Replies
05-21-2012 05:53 AM

I've got a client who requested a project be re-submitted in Autocad 2009, and there are a bunch of files.  First off, when I go to do a saveas, I don't even get an option to convert to 2009, just 2007 and earlier.

 

Will I have to open each and every file to do the saveas?

Windows 7 x 64
Nvidia GeForce GTS 450
8 GB Ram
Intel Core i5-2310 @ 2.90 GHz
v. F.107.0.0 AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 SP1
Valued Contributor
pserpas
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Message 2 of 5 (1,508 Views)

Re: Batch Convert v.2012 .dwg Files to 2009 .dwg?

05-21-2012 06:17 AM in reply to: pserpas

After some searching, I found an Autodesk program called DWG TrueConvert, however, it seems that the only legitimate download of this is for Autocad 2007.  Can anyone confirm that?

Windows 7 x 64
Nvidia GeForce GTS 450
8 GB Ram
Intel Core i5-2310 @ 2.90 GHz
v. F.107.0.0 AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 SP1
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,206
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 5 (1,502 Views)

Re: Batch Convert v.2012 .dwg Files to 2009 .dwg?

05-21-2012 06:31 AM in reply to: pserpas

DWG TrueView will do it.  It's a free download.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,771
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 5 (1,494 Views)

Re: Batch Convert v.2012 .dwg Files to 2009 .dwg?

05-21-2012 07:12 AM in reply to: pserpas

Does the client want AutoCAD 2009 files or Civil 3D 2009 files. In AutoCAD the r2007 files are the same format as the r2009 format. That's why you don't see an option to saveas 2009. Realize that if you use Saveas or DwgTrueConvert all of the Civil 3D objects will be unusable. Some will be proxy objects and some may not make it at all.

 

To get back to r2007(2009) you would need to use the ExportToAutoCAD2007 command. This will explode all the Civil 3D objects before exporting the file. But you can't do it as a batch process unless you create the process yourself.

 

If you need to go back to Civil 3D 2009, let us know. It's a different process.

 

Allen

Valued Contributor
pserpas
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Message 5 of 5 (1,488 Views)

Re: Batch Convert v.2012 .dwg Files to 2009 .dwg?

05-21-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Thanks for the info.

Windows 7 x 64
Nvidia GeForce GTS 450
8 GB Ram
Intel Core i5-2310 @ 2.90 GHz
v. F.107.0.0 AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 SP1

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs