AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,304
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 6 (180 Views)

“Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

180 Views, 5 Replies
10-16-2012 02:42 PM

“Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

 

In the screenshot below, the “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in relation to the existing ground.

 

What might be the reason that it is not closed with the existing ground?

 

Thank you for the help,

 

Best

 

Jamal

 

Clip_186.jpg

 

 

Clip_187.jpg

 

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
LeafRiders
Posts: 315
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Message 2 of 6 (174 Views)

Re: “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

10-16-2012 04:27 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

To me it looks like a target isn't set properly in your Corridor Properties. Either that or there is a gap in your surface which it doesn't look like is the problem.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,715
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 3 of 6 (156 Views)

Re: “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

10-17-2012 07:48 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Your surface isn't wide enough at that station.  You're using, say, a 3:1 slope and that slope will not intersect the surface because there is not enough surface.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,304
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 4 of 6 (144 Views)

Re: “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

10-17-2012 02:24 PM in reply to: mathewk

Thank you guys for the answer. This is quite useful.

 

Does this affect the calculations of fill and cut then? What might other consequences be?

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,715
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 5 of 6 (139 Views)

Re: “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

10-17-2012 02:39 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

It will absolutely affect your volumes because there would be nothing to calculate at that station.  You NEED to make your surface larger in that area.  Either get more survey or make stuff up (fudge).

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,304
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 6 of 6 (113 Views)

Re: “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

10-19-2012 01:46 AM in reply to: mathewk

Many thanks for the valuable answers.

 

I tried to modify the slops of the “assembly” but sounds that the “sections” doesn’t repond!

 

Is there a particular way to update them according to the change in the “assembly”?

 

Clip_228.jpg

 

Clip_229.jpg

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs