AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
taneum
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎01-07-2005
Message 1 of 16 (510 Views)
Accepted Solution

Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

510 Views, 15 Replies
01-17-2013 02:22 PM

So I have a 2' wide sidewalk behind my curb and gutter sub-assembly.  I used the "basiclane" sub-assembly for this sidewalk.  Behind the sidewalk I used a "linkslopetoelevation" sub-assembly for a retaining wall we are putting in.  We need to transition that "linkslopetoelevation" sub-assembly so it comes up and attaches to the back of curb for about 15'.  Thus, the 2' wide sidewalk will go away in that area.  Why doesn't the "linlsopetoelevation" sub-assembly show up in the "Width or Offset Targets" for targetling lines but it does show up in the "Slope or Elevation Targets".  I have target lines that I want the wall to follow but I can only target the vertical, not the horizontal?  Why?

 

The attached .pdf show the sub-assembly showing up in the elevation targeting but not the offset targeting.  If indeed this will not work, how do I transition this.  There is a concrete pad on a hill that we need to keep in place so we are just going to build the wall around it but the sub-assemblies need to do this.  At first I thought I could transition my sidewalk and the wall woule follow but like I said, the "basiclane" sub-assembly doesn' who up for horizontal targeting either.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,193
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 16 (505 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-17-2013 03:00 PM in reply to: taneum

Instead of a Basic Lane, use a UrbanSidewalk with a 0' inside width, 2' walk, 0' outside width. Attach the ret.wall to this, the sidewalk width can be set to a target.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Distinguished Contributor
taneum
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎01-07-2005
Message 3 of 16 (504 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-17-2013 03:01 PM in reply to: taneum

So basically the wall at the back of the sidewalk needs to slide in so it's up agains the back of curb and then slide back out so the sidewalk shows up again.  You can see what I am talking about in the attached .pdf.  This is a picture of my sub-assembly.

Distinguished Contributor
taneum
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎01-07-2005
Message 4 of 16 (503 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-17-2013 03:03 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

I'll try the urban sidewalk sub-assembly.  I think I tried using that before but I do not remember.  I worked on this 2 months ago and then it sat until now, go figure.  I'll let you know what I come up with.  Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,469
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 5 of 16 (499 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-17-2013 03:33 PM in reply to: taneum

taneum wrote:

.  Why doesn't the "linlsopetoelevation" sub-assembly show up in the "Width or Offset Targets" for targetling lines but it does show up in the "Slope or Elevation Targets". 



That subassembly does not provide offset targeting, only elevation. You could use Linkoffsetandslope, which provides both offset and elevation targeting.

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 16 (491 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-17-2013 03:51 PM in reply to: taneum

I refrain from using any subassembly with the word "Basic" in it. Look at the help file they tell you it is not intended for production, in not so many words

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 7 of 16 (463 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-17-2013 07:59 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe-Bouza wrote:

I refrain from using any subassembly with the word "Basic" in it. Look at the help file they tell you it is not intended for production, in not so many words


You wouldn't be talking about this would ya?

"This subassembly is one of a group of Getting Started subassemblies used for simple roadway modeling, and for tutorial and training purposes."

 

I'm glad you mentioned that as I had never read the wording on them before.

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 8 of 16 (451 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-18-2013 04:42 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

What...? Like your 401k will take a hit if you use these? 

 

The UrbanSidewalk is overcomplicated and underpowered for his application. It gives him no elevation control for what he is doing if he needs possibly a little vertical adjustment to fit the wall in. 

 

He just missed it by one.. use the BasicLaneTransition. Then he won't have any extra parameters to set to zero, and then if needed, he could use a feature line for horizontal and vertical control (or not).. 

 

It's a perfectly straightforward SA to use for his sidewalk transitioning application.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 16 (447 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-18-2013 04:57 AM in reply to: fcernst

Its only my opinion Fred.

 

No. Take the the basic curb for example: it has not adjustment to offset the top face of curb from the the bottom face of curb. This creates a vertical face in the TIN that, from my understanding of the Tin algorithm is a no no

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 10 of 16 (444 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-18-2013 05:01 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Think about it... They wouldn't put something in that's going to fail the TIN alogrithm like that...

 

All of the "vertical" links in the OOTB SA's have a little offset built in.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs