AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
wsargent
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎01-12-2007
Message 1 of 9 (968 Views)
Accepted Solution

Band Style alignment end station (Civil 3D 2009)

968 Views, 8 Replies
11-16-2011 10:15 AM

Is there a way to have bands not station the end of an alignment?

 

For example my alignment is 2+09.85 long. I have the profile set to extend to the next station so it displays from -0+50 to 2+50 with the extra unwanted station at 2+09.85 using the stock 'Elevations and Stations' style.

__________

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 (Primary), 2011 by contract.
Dell Percision T3500: MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1; Intel Xeon CPU W3505 @ 2.53GHz, 12.00 GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 600
Contributor
atwitsend74
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-04-2008
Message 2 of 9 (962 Views)

Re: Band Style alignment end station (Civil 3D 2009)

11-16-2011 11:36 AM in reply to: wsargent

Honestly, I'm interested in the official answer to this as well.  

 

The only work-around we've been able to figure out (provided you can't falsely extend the alignment) is to limit the profile view stationing to (in your example) 2+09.84.  The difference in length is negledgable, but your grid will end right at the end of the profile (I sometimes make a false grid to extend for asthetic reasons)

 

My preferred solution (used with pipes, not with streets) is to extend the alignment past the last structure for 20-30 feet (our alignments are non-plotting anyway), and then limit the length on the profile view to say 2+25 (per your example).  It keeps the structures visible, but avoids the annoying end station and looks much nicer.

Jason B
Office CAD Guy
Oh... and Civil Engineer

Civil 3D 2009 and 2013
(wow that was a jump)
64-bit XP
i7 w/ 8GB Ram
ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO
Distinguished Contributor
wsargent
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎01-12-2007
Message 3 of 9 (938 Views)

Re: Band Style alignment end station (Civil 3D 2011)

11-23-2011 07:59 AM in reply to: atwitsend74

Since I have not received nay replies...

 

What if I upgrade the project from the Civil 3D 2009 platform to the Civil 3D 2011 platform? Does that give me access to do what I am looking for?

__________

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 (Primary), 2011 by contract.
Dell Percision T3500: MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1; Intel Xeon CPU W3505 @ 2.53GHz, 12.00 GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 9 (933 Views)

Re: Band Style alignment end station (Civil 3D 2011)

11-23-2011 09:05 AM in reply to: wsargent

on the bands tab of the profile view properties scroll to the right:

 

bands on off.PNG

 

 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
wsargent
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎01-12-2007
Message 5 of 9 (929 Views)

Re: Band Style alignment end station (Civil 3D 2011)

11-23-2011 12:55 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I double checked all of my profiles and both the label start station and label end station are unchecked by default.

__________

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 (Primary), 2011 by contract.
Dell Percision T3500: MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1; Intel Xeon CPU W3505 @ 2.53GHz, 12.00 GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 9 (924 Views)

Re: Band Style alignment end station (Civil 3D 2011)

11-23-2011 02:34 PM in reply to: wsargent

And they are getting labels?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
wsargent
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎01-12-2007
Message 7 of 9 (910 Views)

Re: Band Style alignment end station (Civil 3D 2011)

11-28-2011 04:57 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Yes

__________

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 (Primary), 2011 by contract.
Dell Percision T3500: MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1; Intel Xeon CPU W3505 @ 2.53GHz, 12.00 GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 600
Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 763
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 8 of 9 (890 Views)

Re: Band Style alignment end station (Civil 3D 2011)

11-30-2011 03:58 AM in reply to: wsargent

In the Bands Tab of the profile properties, Click the button under Geometry Points, as shown in the image Joe attached above.

This will bring up a form called "Geometry Points to Label in Band".

On the Alignment Points Tab, Untick the check boxes next to  "Alignment Beginning" and "Alignment End", then click the "OK" Button.

 

Now you just have to do that for each band.

 

You may still get labels, which will probably be down to the profile start and end also in the "Geometry Points to Label in Band" form on the "Profile Points" tab.

 

There could also be a start label from the major station labels in the band style. You can stop this one by setting the profile start to be 0.001, which will stop the first major station label, but make the rest of the profile view look as expected.

 

 

 

 

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Valued Contributor
sturner7277
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎10-18-2007
Message 9 of 9 (887 Views)

Re: Band Style alignment end station (Civil 3D 2011)

11-30-2011 04:08 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

manually enter the ending station to something before the true profile end. for example is the profile ends with station 3+52.36 uncheck the ending station as Joe posted. now enter an ending station of 3+51 thay should keep it from placing a double label in the band.

-Sean
------------------------------------------------------------------
Just a CAD Manager for a Civil Engineering firm...
Win 7 pro 12gb
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
LDD 2009
IDS 2014

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs