AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
seanbuccs
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
Message 1 of 7 (363 Views)

Backfill over a grading.

363 Views, 6 Replies
05-22-2012 12:13 PM

See attached object viewer drawing,

 

As per attached drawing you can see multiple levels/ terraces built in to a mountain.

I did the grading all by poly lines to feature line then just graded the whole perimeter.

 

As it was all rock that was removed i need to place/ backfill 700mm of fill over the area.

 

Each terrace has its own feature line.

 How do i place the fill on my newly created graded surface?

How would i be best to approach this.

 

Please help

 

Sean

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,067
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 7 (328 Views)

Re: Backfill over a grading.

05-22-2012 08:39 PM in reply to: seanbuccs

I would use a process similar to creating a stripping surface for this.  Create a rectangular polyline large enough to enclose the area at an elevation of -0.7m Use this polyline to build a flat TIN surface.  Create a TIN volume surface using the first surface as the Base, and your design as the Comparison.  The elevations created should be 0.7m higher than the original.  Finally create a TIN surface and paste in the TIN volume surface to get the finished product.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 7 (319 Views)

Re: Backfill over a grading.

05-23-2012 12:32 AM in reply to: sboon

Is there a difference in the end result between this method and simply copying the surface and raising by 0.7m??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Contributor
seanbuccs
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
Message 4 of 7 (305 Views)

Re: Backfill over a grading.

05-23-2012 04:35 AM in reply to: neilyj

If i copy and raise the surface by 700mm will i then be able to  edit that surface to create low points for surface water runoff?

 

By raising the surface  i need the exact volume after the i put in the low points.

 

Ok so to sum it up i need to create another surface  higher than the blasted rock surface.

Therefore are you guys telling me not to use the grading tool for this operation.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,067
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 5 of 7 (282 Views)

Re: Backfill over a grading.

05-23-2012 09:03 AM in reply to: seanbuccs

Copying the surface and then editing the copy is certainly an option, and probably the simplest one but if you make changes to the original design surface then they may not be reflected in the copy.

 

My process is more cumbersome but also totally dynamic.  Adding data to the adjustment surface at different elevations will update the final product and will automatically interpolate the depth of fill over the rock.

 

A third process that might be easier would be to create a new empty surface, paste the design rock surface into that, and then use the editing commands to raise the copy and add data to create low points etc.  It's still dynamic to the original, and the editing would likely be easier.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 7 (270 Views)

Re: Backfill over a grading.

05-23-2012 11:41 AM in reply to: sboon

SBoon wrote:

Copying the surface and then editing the copy is certainly an option, and probably the simplest one but if you make changes to the original design surface then they may not be reflected in the copy.

 

My process is more cumbersome but also totally dynamic.  Adding data to the adjustment surface at different elevations will update the final product and will automatically interpolate the depth of fill over the rock.

 

A third process that might be easier would be to create a new empty surface, paste the design rock surface into that, and then use the editing commands to raise the copy and add data to create low points etc.  It's still dynamic to the original, and the editing would likely be easier.


I'd concur that this dynamic method is an option - I use it regularly to create base of soil and formation models. 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,755
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 7 (244 Views)

Re: Backfill over a grading.

05-23-2012 07:04 PM in reply to: seanbuccs

seanbuccs wrote:

If i copy and raise the surface by 700mm will i then be able to  edit that surface to create low points for surface water runoff?

 

By raising the surface  i need the exact volume after the i put in the low points.

 

Ok so to sum it up i need to create another surface  higher than the blasted rock surface.

Therefore are you guys telling me not to use the grading tool for this operation.



The timbre of those last 2 lines sound like a completely different writer - fascinating.

 

I say 0.7 X area and walk away

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs