AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 31 of 34 (330 Views)

Re: BIM Coordinator for AutoCAD Civil 3D / Revit Structure Now Available

01-09-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Due to strong positive labs feedback, we are actively working on a plan to graduate the Autodesk Labs BIM Coordinator for AutoCAD Civil 3D / Revit technology preview to the AutoCAD Civil 3D Productivity Tools site on the Autodesk Subscription Center. Our expectation is to have versions for both the R2012 and R2013 platforms prior to the end of January 2013. Announcement of availability will be via various Autodesk Civil Infrastructure blogs including From the Ground Up, BIM on the Rocks, Being Civil, and It's Alive in the Lab. Stay tuned.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
vivhowe
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-09-2010
Message 32 of 34 (315 Views)

Re: BIM Coordinator for AutoCAD Civil 3D / Revit Structure Now Available

01-15-2013 06:07 PM in reply to: mikeevans
Mike In answer to your questions :- Sectioning is pretty good, clear cut lines but you do need to keep the 'Far clip offset' small or you pick up a lot of projection lines. In spite of this some projection lines do appear but can be turned into invisible lines using the line work tool. Using the 'spot level' tool you can give levels at points on plan, in section it does not work as well, with the leader seemingly snapping to triangulation points at the ends of the 3D triangulation faces. The workflow I have used for the 3D solid is as follows:- Form the surface in Civil 3D. Extract 3D triangles from the surface. Using a lisp routine, I picked up from an online forum, convert the 3D faces to a 3D solid ( The routine extrudes each triangle to a preset level to form a 3D solid then joins the individual solids together.) To make a cleaner 3D section view in Revit I have exported structural elements out of Revit as 3D solids imported them into the 3D ground solid .dwg and subtracted them out of the 3D solid which gives a clear edge when cut. I have attached some screenshots as an example. This is the first time for a good few years I have dabbled in surfaces in Revit, having been assured that things had improved, seems as though, once again, the individuals spreading these rumours don't actually use the software. Regards Viv Viv Howe, Senior CAD Technician Skanska Technology Ltd. Bridgend Office tel: direct +44(0) 1656 869632 fax: +44(0) 1656 869659 e-mail: viv.howe@skanska.co.uk :mailto:nviv.howe> web: www.skanska.co.uk------------------------------------------------------------------------ ----------------------------------- Skanska Technology Ltd. Registered in England Registration no: 932158 Registered office: Maple Cross House, Denham Way, Maple Cross, Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire WD3 9SW ------------------------------------------------------------------------ ----------------------------------- Privileged/Confidential Information may be contained in this message. If you are not the addressee indicated in this message (or responsible for delivery of the message to such person), you may not copy or deliver this message to anyone. In such case, you should notify us immediately, and destroy this message. If you or your employer do not consent to Internet E-mail messages of this kind, please advise us immediately. ------------------------------------------------------------------------ -----------------------------------:mailto:nviv.howe>
New Member
ryandeane7
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 33 of 34 (315 Views)

Re: BIM Coordinator for AutoCAD Civil 3D / Revit Structure Now Available

01-15-2013 06:07 PM in reply to: scott.sheppard
This is great news! Please please please tell me that it will work with C3D 2013...? :smileyhappy: Thanks!
Member
vivhowe
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-09-2010
Message 34 of 34 (307 Views)

Re: BIM Coordinator for AutoCAD Civil 3D / Revit Structure Now Available

01-16-2013 01:52 AM in reply to: ryandeane7

If you are referring to the method described of importing Civil 3D surfaces into Revit the answer is yes.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs