AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
New Member
ihab.arahim
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-23-2013
Message 1 of 10 (1,372 Views)

Autodesk ignorance for Windows 8 support

1372 Views, 9 Replies
03-14-2013 07:18 PM

Hello,

 

It was a big problem for me since I started using AuoCAD Civil 3D 2013 on my windows 8. It is crashing a few minutes after opened. When I run it in the mode "Civil 3d as Autocad" everything works ok, but I can only visualise and plot the drawing and move the labels.

 

First, I thought that I had a problem with my PC so I tried googling this issue, updating my version to SP1 but nothing got fixed. Throught my research on the web It seems that mostly of Windows 8 users are facing problems using Autodesk products on their computers especially whem my co-worker was facing such a similar issue on running both of AutoCAD 2012 and Revit 2013 on his windows 8 and I can not describe how much did we got annoyed for such problem and the circumstances for not able to complete our work tasks using Autodesk products.

 

The point is how Autodesk is going to give a final solution to Windows 8 incomptability issues. Will be there anything further or it is just Windows 8 users are forced to leave their operating system and back for older one without any incomptaibilty issues like Windows 7?

 

I hope that Autodesk development could find solutions as soons as possible.

 

Thanks.

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 10 (1,340 Views)

Re: Autodesk ignorance for Windows 8 support

03-15-2013 01:02 AM in reply to: ihab.arahim

Whilst it's a 99% certainty that the 2014 family of products will be supported on Win 8, I wouldn't be too sure about previous releases.....

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,091
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 10 (1,331 Views)

Re: Autodesk ignorance for Windows 8 support

03-15-2013 04:48 AM in reply to: ihab.arahim

ihab.arahim wrote:

Hello,

 

It was a big problem for me since I started using AuoCAD Civil 3D 2013 on my windows 8.  

 


That is understandable, since Civil 3D 2013 is not supported on Windows 8.

 

Windows 8 Support for Autodesk products

 

Civil 3D 2013 System Requirements

 

Generally speaking, commecial applications such as AutoCAD are not designed for operating systems that don't exist at the time of their release. Autodesk has historically released new versions (compatible with current O/S) each spring, and history also tells us that they generally do not issue mid stream updates that make current versions compatible with new O/S.

 

It's good practice to plan your computer and O/S purchases based on the apps you need to run, not the other way around

 

 

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 10 (1,328 Views)

Re: Autodesk ignorance for Windows 8 support

03-15-2013 04:53 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

rkmcswain wrote:

ihab.arahim wrote:

Hello,

 

It was a big problem for me since I started using AuoCAD Civil 3D 2013 on my windows 8.  

 


That is understandable, since Civil 3D 2013 is not supported on Windows 8.

 

Windows 8 Support for Autodesk products

 

Civil 3D 2013 System Requirements

 

Generally speaking, commecial applications such as AutoCAD are not designed for operating systems that don't exist at the time of their release. Autodesk has historically released new versions (compatible with current O/S) each spring, and history also tells us that they generally do not issue mid stream updates that make current versions compatible with new O/S.

 

It's good practice to plan your computer and O/S purchases based on the apps you need to run, not the other way around

 

 


...and we'll have to wait and see if any backward compatibility will be provided for earlier versions of Civil 3D running under Windows 8.

 

I have just got a new PC and it was specified with Win 7 * 64......

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
New Member
ihab.arahim
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-23-2013
Message 5 of 10 (1,320 Views)

Re: Autodesk ignorance for Windows 8 support

03-15-2013 05:08 AM in reply to: neilyj

Autodesk shoud considere when a new official release of one of Autodesk products supporting OS to fix the comptability of their products in shape of updates to their latest versions. I don`t think to buying a new PC or Laptop two months after the release of Windows 8 to be using Windows 7 is a good idea as it looks like making a manual structure drawing for civil project when there an Autocad exist in the world :smileywink:

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 6 of 10 (1,315 Views)

Re: Autodesk ignorance for Windows 8 support

03-15-2013 05:32 AM in reply to: ihab.arahim

One rule that is often forgotten is that you should by your hardware to run your software not buy the hardware and hope the software will run on it. Autodesk has made no secret that it does not support any current release of Civil 3D on Windows 8.

 

Hopefully when 2014 comes out it will be supported on Windows 8. However a lot depends on when Microsoft released the specs for programming under Win 8. The more advanced (complicated) a program the more difficult it is to back track and make revision for compatibility with a new OS. That's why you may see simple programs come out with intermediate updates for OS compatibility.

 

The only time I've ever seen Autodesk come out with a reverse compatibility patch was for an installer only. Not for the main program.

 

In the future it would be good to remember that there is usually about a year lag between the release of a new OS and a compatible release of Civil 3d.

 

Search this group for other posts on the subject. Some other users have come up with workarounds for Win 8 that might be helpful for you.

 

Allen Jessup


Civil 3D 2012 SP 2.1
Dell Precision T7400, Xeon CPU 3.16 GHz
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit,12 GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX 4600 

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,091
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 10 (1,310 Views)

Re: Autodesk ignorance for Windows 8 support

03-15-2013 05:43 AM in reply to: ihab.arahim

ihab.arahim wrote:

I don`t think to buying a new PC or Laptop two months after the release of Windows 8 to be using Windows 7 is a good idea 


It is when the apps you need to run require Windows 7.

 

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 10 (1,303 Views)

Re: Autodesk ignorance for Windows 8 support

03-15-2013 05:58 AM in reply to: ihab.arahim

If you read through [THIS] long post you will see some suggestions for using Civil 3D on Windows 8. If you make a further search of this group you should be able to find more.

 

C3D 2014 should be out in a couple of month. That may be supported on Win 8.

 

Another thing to remember. If you're on subscription you are entitled to some level of support from Autodesk. How is determined by your subscription level. If you're operating on an unsupported OS you may not be able to get the support that you're paying for.

 

Allen Jessup

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 9 of 10 (1,301 Views)

Re: Autodesk ignorance for Windows 8 support

03-15-2013 06:03 AM in reply to: ihab.arahim

From [THIS] thread. "C3D 2013 & SP1 & Win 8 = seems to work > no support"

 

Allen Jessup

 

 

Valued Contributor
mbcastle
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 10 of 10 (1,244 Views)

Re: Autodesk ignorance for Windows 8 support

03-15-2013 03:55 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

I've gotten Civil 3D 2013 to work with Win 8 as long as I stick to plain AutoCAD routines. Civil 3D routines are more of an issue. I fully expect 2014 to be compatible. Seems like Win 8 has been around long enough in some form, so Autodesk should have had plenty of time for 2014.

Mark Castle
Civil 3D 2014, SP1
Win 8.1 64-Bit, 8 GB RAM
Core 2 Duo 6400, Quadro FX 580

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs