AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
10050744
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Message 1 of 9 (1,112 Views)

Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

1112 Views, 8 Replies
11-18-2013 07:30 AM

Hi Guys,

 

I know some people may have already posted some stuff already about slope analysis but I could do with a direct answer to my question.

 

I am new to Civil 3d and have been learning it over the past month by myself, I have a reasonable good handle of the software as I have been using regular cad for the past couple of years.

 

I have been given a project for college and part of the project is as follows:

 

 

 Provide a Slope Analysis Plan which indicates the main surface water flows within the site and identifies slope gradients in coloured bands of:

>1 in 3

1 in 3 – 1 in 5

1 in 5 – 1 in 10

< 1 in 10

 

 

I understand the slopes, ranges and percentages, do I need to change the style of the slope analysis to achieve the above process???

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

Best Regards,

David.

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,754
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 9 (1,104 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

11-18-2013 07:45 AM in reply to: 10050744

You need to change the style of the surface to a style that will display the results of the slope analysis.

 

You also need to run the analysis. Choose the number of ranges you want (in this example 4) and then, after running the analysis, change the properties of each range.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,767
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 9 (1,096 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

11-18-2013 07:55 AM in reply to: 10050744

You need to perform a Elevation Surface Analysis from the Surface's Properties dialog and make sure the surface style used displays the elevations.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,767
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 9 (1,087 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

11-18-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Sorry Brian I didn't mean to repeat this but I did catch my mistake. Elevation analysis should be slope and the style should display slopes. Same stuff different calc. :smileywink:

 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Member
10050744
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Message 5 of 9 (1,038 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

11-19-2013 06:04 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Brian,

 

I have run the analysis, I understand the ranges etc. How do I go about converting the ranges above into percentages.

 

From the example above a 1: 3 is 33.33% but then they want 1:3 to 1:5 which is 33.33% to 20%??

 

Do you understand where I am coming from or do I just add the 20% to the 33% to give me a 1:5 slopes??

 

Am I just over complicating it or would I be better to just run seperate analysis of the surface for each???

 

Thanks for your assistance, much appreciated.

 

David.

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,754
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 9 (1,002 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

11-19-2013 10:50 AM in reply to: 10050744

Just type in 1:3 or 1:5 for the slope.

 

 

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Member
10050744
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Message 7 of 9 (904 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

12-04-2013 03:55 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Brian,

 

Thanks very much for your assistance, especially the video which helped immensly.

 

I have one other question Brian.... Can you overlay/ underlay your original contours ontop/beneath the slope analaysis??

 

Thanks again.

 

Best,

David.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,706
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 8 of 9 (895 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

12-04-2013 04:44 AM in reply to: 10050744
Think you'd need to create a new surface, paste the original one in and style as required
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,754
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 9 of 9 (828 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

12-11-2013 09:09 AM in reply to: 10050744

Just turn on the display of the contours as well as the slopes in the style.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs