AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
tclarke1243
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
Message 1 of 15 (1,372 Views)

AutoCAD crashes when not connected to the network

1372 Views, 14 Replies
08-30-2010 10:03 AM

Hi, I'm not that familiar with AutoCAD so you'll have to bare with me(I'm an IT guy)...  We are using AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010, the majority of our users run Civil 3D from within our network environment, but we do have one site that is it outside of our network..  We recently upgraded to Windows 7/Civil 3D 2010(from Civil 2008)..  Civil 3d appears to work ok for the users that are working from within our network, but the offsite users get error messages and Civil 3D crashes when the application is first launched..

 

They get the following error...

 

"Cannot find the resource string number 25202 in resource 321585152"

 

As soon as I plug one of these PCs into our network it loads ok, if I disconnect the PC I get this error message..

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks..

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 890
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 2 of 15 (1,364 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when not connected to the network

08-30-2010 10:57 AM in reply to: tclarke1243

Do you have roaming profiles enabled or profiles stored on a network share? Then those users that are off the network may be trying to access stuff that is not cached/synchronized properly on the hard drive.

 

I did a google search on "cannot find the resource string number in resource", didn't even reference AutoCAD and most of the result had to do with AutoCAD. You might find some assistance there.

 

http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=77650

http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=71765

http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=70081

 

Some of the results mention issues with xrefs in specific drawings but your issue sounds like a startup problem not related to any drawing in particular. Maybe try changing the "start in" folder in the shortcut from the UserDataCache folder to something else like "C:\Data".

Employee
hgohel
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 3 of 15 (1,364 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when not connected to the network

08-30-2010 10:57 AM in reply to: tclarke1243

Can you tell me which Update is installed for the users that are reporting crashes?  The latest available for Civil 3D 2010 is Update 3.

 

For those users who are reporting crashes, were they able to send in crash reports?  If so, could you please send me an email address that was used when submitting the report so I can look it up?  My email is himanshu.gohel@autodesk.com

 

Thanks,

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Active Member
tclarke1243
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
Message 4 of 15 (1,359 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when not connected to the network

08-30-2010 11:12 AM in reply to: tclarke1243

It is update 3..  I'm trying to send you one now, but it's not prompting to send one...

Active Member
tclarke1243
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
Message 5 of 15 (1,356 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when not connected to the network

08-30-2010 11:14 AM in reply to: GTVic

These users are just using local profiles as they are not on our network..  I wouldn't think anything would be cached as these brand new builds, these PCs/user accounts have never been on our network..

 

 

Employee
hgohel
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 6 of 15 (1,352 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when not connected to the network

08-30-2010 11:20 AM in reply to: tclarke1243

Update 3, that's good.  So as far as the "crash" goes - first they see that message about unknown resource, they presumably click "OK" to that, and then what?  Does C3D exit immediately after that?  If you're not getting a CER window to report the crash then the troubleshooting steps will be different.

 

You may want to fire up ProcMon (Sysinternals.com) and monitor acad.exe to see what's going on during the launch.  Being an IT guy I think you may be familiar with the tool.

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Active Member
tclarke1243
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
Message 7 of 15 (1,347 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when not connected to the network

08-30-2010 11:29 AM in reply to: hgohel

The error keeps repeating itself, it never makes it into the application, I have to kill it through task manager..

 

I tried doing what one of the other posters said and changed the Start In field on the icon to C:\Data, I created this folder and granted full control to it..  The application gave a different error message this time.. 

 

"FATAL ERROR: Unhandled e0434f4dh Exception at 75bb9617h"

Employee
hgohel
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 8 of 15 (1,340 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when not connected to the network

08-30-2010 11:36 AM in reply to: tclarke1243

My suggestion would be to repair the install on a PC that's showing this behavior.  Launch it once to make sure you can still reproduce the problem.

 

If you can then fire up ProcMon, set it to monitor acad.exe, and launch Civil 3D 2010.  Keep an eye on the output of ProcMon to see if you can figure out what's it's looking for when you get that missing resource error.  It might point you to a file that's missing, or a path that it's looking in that's not found, etc.

 

Let us know how you get on.

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Active Member
tclarke1243
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
Message 9 of 15 (1,335 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when not connected to the network

08-30-2010 11:57 AM in reply to: hgohel

I've re-imaged the PC and put a fresh copy of Civil 3D on it..  I've also imaged a different PC and installed Civil 3D..  We have a network deployment of Civil that I've used on many other PCs that works fine..  Used the same deployment of Civil 3D, same OS image as working PCs..  I also tried manually installing Civil 3D off the DVD, same result..  The only difference is that one PC is connected to the network and one is not..

 

I just sent you the log file from Process Monitor in an email..

 

It's really strange, I can take a PC, plug it in to our network, log in as local administrator, open Civil 3D, it works fine..  I close Civil, unplug the network connection, open Civil and it crashes, reconnect the network cable and it's fine...  Would it be saving something to the network?  I'm logging in with a local user account..  No folders are redirected or anything..  At the other site users do not have a connection to our network, but still have an internet connection..

Active Member
tclarke1243
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
Message 10 of 15 (1,334 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when not connected to the network

08-30-2010 12:00 PM in reply to: hgohel

There are several reg keys that it looks for that aren't found in Process Monitor, it looks to HKLM, then to HKCU, would this be part of it?  Wouldn't it install these reg keys when I put a fresh copy on the PC though?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs