Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013: display DWG of point .mxd file of ArcMAP 10.1

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
2094 Views, 5 Replies

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013: display DWG of point .mxd file of ArcMAP 10.1

Hi all,

I am new in using AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013. I used ArcMAP 10.1 to create a .mxd MAP of 4 points/locations - each point/location has the values of SampleID, XYZ-coordinates, Depth, ChemicalName - see the attached file for details.

I used the ArcToolbox to convert ArcMAP to CAD in the GeoProcess, obtained a DWG, and saved it in a folder of my C:/Temp/CDC_ArcGIS-GeoDatabase folder - see the first page of the attched file. I used AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 to open that DWG file - I played with it in the basic 3D Wireframe a little bit, but I don't know how to display the feature/object of my 4-point MAP - see the last page of my attached file.  Please kindly help and tell me how I can display/view the feature/object of my 4-point MAP in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013.

Thanks in advance,

Scott Chang 

P. S. The backgroung of my AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 is black.  How can I change the background color to white or other light colors?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Neilw_05
in reply to: Anonymous

You can adjust your screen background color by typing OP on the command line. That will open the Autocad Options dialogue. I think the settings for colors is found on the System tab.

As for displaying your GIS data, I've not used the workflow you have chosen (converting an MXD to .DWG using the Geoprocessing tools). While I can see where that might be a good choice for converting a lot of data all at once, in this case I think you'll find it simpler to use Map to display your points.