AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
hockey_hound
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-27-2003
Message 21 of 31 (239 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 Toolbars instead of Ribbon

06-07-2013 01:47 PM in reply to: jmayo
Some of us are smart enough NOT to drink your "kool-aid" too.
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,806
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 22 of 31 (237 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 Toolbars instead of Ribbon

06-07-2013 01:53 PM in reply to: hockey_hound

The answer to the question "Can I jump off that bridge?" would be yes. But I might want to throw in a recommendation not to. "Can I dig a ditch with a spoon?" Yes. But you might want to use a shovel of even rent some equipment.

 

I don't see how adding other options is detrimental to the OP.

 

Allen

Member
mthompson
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Message 23 of 31 (178 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 Toolbars instead of Ribbon

08-27-2013 09:43 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

No offesne there partner... but I have to agree with the hockey fella. Not so much in the way he delivered his point, but the point itself. The problem with many of these "user forums" is they focus on what I should do, what the best choice is, etc. my guess is that hockey_hound like me was directed through to this thread because not only was he looking for the answer to if the toolbars could be used instead of the ribbon, but also, how one would go about changing the settings to allow for such an environment. I have OLD users... a couple that are about to retire, and I don't see the validity in making them learn the new ribbon interface with only a few months of work left. The only reason I have to replace the computers is they both failed. These users don't want the toolbars tucked away somewhere... they want it to look like the Civil3D 2009 interface. Period. So a simple answer of "yes" did answer the question, but folks that have been around support for years like many pf us have tend to follow that through to "yes, and here is how". Someone will always have a best practice, or a better way to do it, but I don't remeber "best practice" being part of the question.

I wish I could actually provide the answer, it would make a few of my users very happy. Instead, I get to read messages from a couple guys fighting with each other. Hooray user forums!

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 24 of 31 (173 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 Toolbars instead of Ribbon

08-27-2013 09:58 AM in reply to: mthompson

I think the answer you seek was in message 5 in this thread:

 


JessicaPalmer wrote:

If I understand your original question you are looking to add the toolbars but not replace the ribbons. On the View tab, at the far right hand end, is a toolbar button. First click toolbar, then choose the category and the specific toolbar to turn on.  You can place them where ever you wish.

 

Toolbars.png

 

Continue to use the Ribbon for new commands you may find that it is easier to use than some of the toolbars.

 

:smileyhappy:


It's possible I misunderstand you though.  Is there something that you're still not sure how to achieve?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,186
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 25 of 31 (167 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 Toolbars instead of Ribbon

08-27-2013 10:25 AM in reply to: mthompson

mthompson wrote:

No offesne there partner... but I have to agree with the hockey fella. 

I wish I could actually provide the answer, it would make a few of my users very happy. Instead, I get to read messages from a couple guys fighting with each other. Hooray user forums!


My 2¢....

 

Many times, without more information from the OP, it's difficult to ascertain (especially from a user you don't know), the context from which the question arose.

 

Are they asking for "A" because they need "A" period, or they just don't know that "Substitute A" is available and it will do the job better.

 

I saw a post in another forum today where the OP asked how to turn off "UAC" in Windows 7. He went on to say something like "...don't tell me why I need to leave it alone, and don't tell me what it does, just tell me how to turn it off, period" .   In that case, it's easy to see what the OP was asking for (and yes, responders did try to convince the OP to leave it on anyway....)

 

Cheers all.

 

 

Member
mthompson
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Message 26 of 31 (162 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 Toolbars instead of Ribbon

08-27-2013 10:30 AM in reply to: troma

Almost... I was hoping for more of a "here is how to make the environment look like Civil 3D 2009" etc. I know that is asking for a lot and I'm not frustrated at all. I want the ribbon to actually go away and have it be all toolbars instead. Sort of a "classic" interface option. This seems to be a common question, but there aren't many complete answers. I'm sure I will figure it out. Hopefully before they retire :smileyhappy:

Member
mthompson
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Message 27 of 31 (161 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 Toolbars instead of Ribbon

08-27-2013 10:31 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

I agree completely... a more diplomatic response like yours probably could have saved two pages on these answers.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,806
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 28 of 31 (159 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 Toolbars instead of Ribbon

08-27-2013 10:34 AM in reply to: mthompson

mthompson wrote:

No offesne there partner... but


None taken. You're right about that being part of the nature of user forums. But that's the price paid for free support. Not every answer will be of any use. As I said; I believe giving additional information that may be helpful is a good thing. The OP has every right to ignore it.

 

To make the ribbon disappear. Use the RIBBONCLOSE command.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 29 of 31 (153 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 Toolbars instead of Ribbon

08-27-2013 10:56 AM in reply to: mthompson
I skipped from 2008 to 2011, so I can't say for sure what you had in 2009. I know that in 2008 I had a toolbar for feature lines: create & modify. I liked that. In 2011 I can't find it. All the CAD toolbars are there, but the only ones for Civil are the Transparent Commands.
I could probably go into the CUI and make the toolbar from these commands, if I felt like slaying a Hydra or something. I haven't understood the "Customize User Interface" user interface since 2000. I've resolved that the very next time that life gets so rosey and beautiful and easy that I just can't take it I'm going to learn how to operate the CUI UI. If I do it any other time I will probably go over the edge of the mental abyss.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,186
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 30 of 31 (141 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 Toolbars instead of Ribbon

08-27-2013 01:23 PM in reply to: troma

troma wrote:
...... I haven't understood the "Customize User Interface" user interface since 2000. 

It was beyond terrible when first released in AutoCAD 2006, but they did go back and make major improvements to this feature. It still leaves a lot to be desired, but I think it's been given proper attention considering it's not something that is typically used as often as say...the SSM....

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs