Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Assembly with Depressed Median

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
nmiller33
2149 Views, 13 Replies

Assembly with Depressed Median

Hello All,

I've never used Civil 3D before and I've been trying to teach myself to give myself an edge on a Transportation Design Project.

Anyways, what I'm trying to figure out is how to create an assembly of a divided highway with a depressed median.

If I understand correctly I need the lanes to be in place first before I can correctly insert the depressed median.

My question is how do I get the lanes offset from the assembly baseline so that I can insert the median between them?

This may be a dumb question but I've been researching and using trial and error with MarkPoints and the depressed median for hours without any luck.

Any help is appreciated,

Nathan

Core i7-2600K @4.8GHz
2x Nvidia GTX 570
16 GB 1600mHz DDR3
2x 64GB OCZ Agility 3 Raid-0
1TB WD Caviar Black
13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
jmayo-EE
in reply to: nmiller33

You should be able to place a median on the assembly and have lanes attach to the median.

John Mayo

EESignature

Message 3 of 14
nmiller33
in reply to: jmayo-EE

I can successfully place a median of any type other than a Depressed Median.

When you right click on the Depressed Median and click help the first thing that it tells you is.

"This subassembly creates a cross-sectional representation of a depressed median between the attachment point and a previously named marked point.

Use the MarkPoint subassembly first if the connecting point has not already been marked."

Core i7-2600K @4.8GHz
2x Nvidia GTX 570
16 GB 1600mHz DDR3
1TB WD Caviar Black
Message 4 of 14
jmayo-EE