AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
ekubaskie
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎05-27-2004
Message 1 of 7 (100 Views)

Assembly Toolbox and Tutorial

100 Views, 6 Replies
12-02-2004 12:27 PM
I've been going through the corridor tutorials, and they all say that a properties box comes up when you click an object in the toolbox, before you click the attachment point for the object.

This is not happening for me. To get the properties dialog, I have to right-click and select properties. Then I left-click the icon to actually place an object - and it jumps straight to the "select attachment point" prompt.

Am I missing a setting or are the tutorials just borked?
*Brian Hailey
Message 2 of 7 (100 Views)

Re: Assembly Toolbox and Tutorial

12-02-2004 12:36 PM in reply to: ekubaskie
Hi, I get the properties dialog box as soon as I select a sub assembly from the tool palette. -- Brian Hailey LDT2005 C3D2005 XP Pro - SP 2 P4 2.8GHz 1.00 GB of RAM "ekubaskie" wrote in message news:27473695.1102019267780.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > I've been going through the corridor tutorials, and they all say that a > properties box comes up when you click an object in the toolbox, before > you click the attachment point for the object. > > This is not happening for me. To get the properties dialog, I have to > right-click and select properties. Then I left-click the icon to actually > place an object - and it jumps straight to the "select attachment point" > prompt. > > Am I missing a setting or are the tutorials just borked?
*Nick Harper
Message 3 of 7 (100 Views)

Re: Assembly Toolbox and Tutorial

12-03-2004 06:40 AM in reply to: ekubaskie
I have the same problem, if I pick a subassembly it just asks for the connection point. So all my objects are automatically right "justified" and I have to edit them after :-/. "ekubaskie" wrote in message news:27473695.1102019267780.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > I've been going through the corridor tutorials, and they all say that a properties box comes up when you click an object in the toolbox, before you click the attachment point for the object. > > This is not happening for me. To get the properties dialog, I have to right-click and select properties. Then I left-click the icon to actually place an object - and it jumps straight to the "select attachment point" prompt. > > Am I missing a setting or are the tutorials just borked?
Contributor
Karla Leighton
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-27-2004
Message 4 of 7 (100 Views)

Re: Assembly Toolbox and Tutorial

12-03-2004 08:49 AM in reply to: ekubaskie
Hi,
As a workaround, you might be able to run the Properties command transparently after selecting the subassembly. At the "Select marker point..." prompt enter 'properties--and that should bring up the correct dialog box where you can make changes.

Another thing that might help is to check the Auto-hide setting on the Properties dialog box. If that is selected, the dialog box might not be visible when you insert the subassembly.

-Karla Leighton, Autodesk technical publications
Distinguished Contributor
ekubaskie
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎05-27-2004
Message 5 of 7 (100 Views)

Re: Assembly Toolbox and Tutorial

12-03-2004 10:27 AM in reply to: ekubaskie
I tried that - and as expected - nada, because we are referring to the sub-assembly properties dialog box, not the main AutoCAD object properties dialog box (or any of the dozens of other properties dialog boxes associated with C3D).

The tutorial says to click on the tool and the dialog will pop up, allowing you to change settings, and when you close the dialog it will then prompt for the marker point. Some of us are getting the dialog, and others aren't - it just goes straight to the prompt
*Brian Hailey
Message 6 of 7 (100 Views)

Re: Assembly Toolbox and Tutorial

12-03-2004 10:33 AM in reply to: ekubaskie
Hi, Actually, it is referring to the main AutoCAD object properties dialog box and not the sub-assembly properties dialog box. Also, you don't need to close the properties dialog box before placing the sub-assembly into the assembly. Hope this helps, -- Brian Hailey LDT2005 C3D2005 XP Pro - SP 2 P4 2.8GHz 1.00 GB of RAM "ekubaskie" wrote in message news:13842220.1102098492541.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... >I tried that - and as expected - nada, because we are referring to the >sub-assembly properties dialog box, not the main AutoCAD object properties >dialog box (or any of the dozens of other properties dialog boxes >associated with C3D). > > The tutorial says to click on the tool and the dialog will pop up, > allowing you to change settings, and when you close the dialog it will > then prompt for the marker point. Some of us are getting the dialog, and > others aren't - it just goes straight to the prompt
Distinguished Contributor
ekubaskie
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎05-27-2004
Message 7 of 7 (100 Views)

Re: Assembly Toolbox and Tutorial

12-03-2004 02:12 PM in reply to: ekubaskie
OK, my bad. I tried again with a larger properties window and there they were - but now I'm curious as to why there would be a separate sub-assembly properties dialog avaialble from the right-click menu.

Is there a significant difference in behaviour between the two?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs