Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any experience with nVidia 310m?

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
aniko10
2111 Views, 7 Replies

Any experience with nVidia 310m?

Hy there

I'm considering which laptop to buy myself, but I haven't got money for any workstation-class modell (I'm a student). There's a Samsung laptop with an nVidia 310m dedicated graphics card, but I'm not sure, if C3D (2009) accept it at all. Will it run ot that machine? What will I miss if I try to run c3D on a laptop-graphics card like this? (I rather use the program for 2D tasks)

Thanks for helping a rookie

Aniko
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
msmith
in reply to: aniko10

Can you list the full laptop spec or provide a link to the spec.

That card is not listed on the Autodesk Hardware list but that doesn't mean it will not work just that it hasen't been tested.

Put up the spec and I'll take a look.

Message 3 of 8
aniko10

It's a Samsung - NP-R528-DS02HU

# WXGA HD LED (1366 x 768)
# CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 (2,2 GHz, 800 MHz, 2 MB)
# HDD: 500 GB, 5400 RPM, SATA
# RAM: 2 x 2 GB DDR3-1066
# ODD: DVD Super Multi
# VGA: NVIDIA GeForce GT310M 512 MB VGA (D-SUB),

Thanks for helping!

Aniko
Message 4 of 8
msmith

# WXGA HD LED (1366 x 768)

- good

# CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 (2,2 GHz, 800 MHz, 2 MB)

- a little under powered, but at least its dual core. For CAD in general the higher the speed the better, it will run on a multi core system but it is not setup to take advantage of multiple cores. Basicly one core will run Civil the other will be used on anything that happens to be running at the same time.

# HDD: 500 GB, 5400 RPM, SATA

- our CAD machines always run 7200rpm harddrives but I assume this is a

# RAM: 2 x 2 GB DDR3-1066

- This is good, but does it have the option to upgrade later. You should