AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Steenix
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-16-2013
Message 1 of 6 (132 Views)
Accepted Solution

Alignments and Sites?

132 Views, 5 Replies
02-21-2014 12:43 PM

What is the purpose of placing alignments on sites? I understand that objects on different sites cannot "interact" with each other, when would that be an issue with alignments?

Distinguished Mentor
Pointdump
Posts: 563
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 2 of 6 (121 Views)

Re: Alignments and Sites?

02-21-2014 01:03 PM in reply to: Steenix

Rights of Way for streets is usually the starting place to subdivide land before chopping it into lots.

 

Dave

Dave
Mohave Valley, Arizona

HP DV7 Laptop
Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014
Active Contributor
Steenix
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-16-2013
Message 3 of 6 (112 Views)

Re: Alignments and Sites?

02-21-2014 01:29 PM in reply to: Pointdump

I'm sorry, I don't quite understand how that relates to alignments and sites

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,202
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 6 (105 Views)

Re: Alignments and Sites?

02-21-2014 01:34 PM in reply to: Steenix

Say you have a grid of streets, 2 running north-south, 2 running east-west, giving you 4 intersections. If all of these alignments are in the same site, the closed area between them will create a Parcel. If you have a boundary parcel in the same site, and the alignments intersect it, any closed area will become a parcel. Placing alignments in separate sites, or the SitelessAlignments collection, prevents parcels from being created by the alignments.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,782
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 6 (101 Views)

Re: Alignments and Sites?

02-21-2014 01:40 PM in reply to: Steenix
To appreciate alignments and sites you have to see alignments as more/ other than a stationing line. Hint: hatch boundaries
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
Steenix
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-16-2013
Message 6 of 6 (91 Views)

Re: Alignments and Sites?

02-21-2014 01:45 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Ah, that makes sense. Thank you very much!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs