AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
skintsubby
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎09-29-2004
Message 1 of 8 (379 Views)

Alignment to XYZ ?

379 Views, 7 Replies
06-19-2012 11:09 PM

I was trying to export my alignment, at certain intervals, to excel (or text) as xyz data. I tried searching and found... Alignment to xyz

 

But it didn't really help. I can export the XY but not the Z in the report manager.

 

So my questions are.... How can I create a new report to incorporate the Z? Or is there another way to do it?

 

I should add I also tried the "Incremental Stationing Reporting" from the Profiles Report... However it doesn't recognize the profiles I've created? I get the "No FG profiles in....." even though there are?

 

Any help appreciated

 

Thanks

 

 

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 8 (372 Views)

Re: Alignment to XYZ ?

06-20-2012 12:23 AM in reply to: skintsubby

Another method that I use for this is to create cogo points using the measure alignment option.  You can assign elevations from a profile and select whatever station range or interval you want.  Another trick for this is to change the point name template settings first, so that the point name matches the station value.

Distinguished Mentor
skintsubby
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎09-29-2004
Message 3 of 8 (370 Views)

Re: Alignment to XYZ ?

06-20-2012 01:10 AM in reply to: sboon

Thanks for the reply Steve

 

Ok So I create my COGO points form my alignment... But they're at 0 z elevation not at the surface. So How do I assign the z elevations from the profile to them?

 

I would have thought that this would have been relatively easy to just have been able to add a field to a report! :smileysad:

 

Apologies for my stupidity :smileyhappy:

 

Forgot to add....

Civil 2013. from Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2013

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 708
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 4 of 8 (354 Views)

Re: Alignment to XYZ ?

06-20-2012 05:17 AM in reply to: skintsubby

The profile report is the one I think you want. Make sure the profiles are design profiles and not surface profiles.

 

However, if you have to use the COGO points, there is a command "Elevations from Surface" that will move the points to a surface.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,787
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 8 (348 Views)

Re: Alignment to XYZ ?

06-20-2012 06:21 AM in reply to: skintsubby

After you start the measure alignment command and select the alignment there is a box that comes up and lets you select the profile.

 

Oh. And I think you have to set the Prompt for Descriptor in the point settings to Automatic - Object

 

Allen

Distinguished Mentor
skintsubby
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎09-29-2004
Message 6 of 8 (311 Views)

Re: Alignment to XYZ ?

06-29-2012 12:45 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Allen / Peter.

 

Sorry for the delay in getting back...

 

I was getting a bit confused with the process, and as luck would have it I got a call from someone at Autodesk who happened to be dropping by. So I asked them this question.

 

The bloke couldn't have been more helpful. He even had someone at Autodesk create a wmv file showing me the steps involved. (basically an idiots guide.... for me... the idiot :smileyhappy:  ) (I'd post it here if it wasn't so large.) So, Kudos to Autodesk for that.

 

I only really need to create Alignments and Survey Profiles so it was a bit more involved than I thought. and not quite as simple as just running a report.

 

My only gripe would be it would have been perfect to be able to just run the Increment Station Report at a set distance and get the XYZ data in an easier process. It already does the XY.. It can't be that hard to add the Z??? Or is it?)

 

Anyway, thank for the replies. Much appreciated... Like I said.. I just needed an idiots guide, and the wmv basically showed the COGO point method in detail.

 

Mark

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 708
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 7 of 8 (299 Views)

Re: Alignment to XYZ ?

06-29-2012 07:32 AM in reply to: skintsubby

Have you installed the UK / IE Country Kit? There is a report under "Combined Geometry" called "Geometry Detailed Report" that will you the chainange, easting, northing and level.

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Mentor
skintsubby
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎09-29-2004
Message 8 of 8 (264 Views)

Re: Alignment to XYZ ?

07-09-2012 12:10 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Peter.

 

No, sorry. It's the Australian Version we're using.

 

Mark

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs