AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
jwhal
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
Message 1 of 11 (631 Views)
Accepted Solution

Alignment/Corridor/Superelevation Error

631 Views, 10 Replies
07-16-2012 04:42 AM

Using Civil 3D 2012 SP 1 on Win7 Pro 64-bit. 

 

Is there any reason why a corridor model would not be respecting the manually entered superelevation values in the alignment? I have several stations that should be calculated with even superelevation values, but they aren't. For example, at station 0+080 on my alignment the left crown should be running at -3%, but it is actually being calculated at -2.47%. It isn't just one station; it's most of them. No overridden stations, vertical targets, etc in the corridor. Just a fairly straight-forward align (hor/vert) with super, simple assembly (two lanes, shoulder, daylight), simple corridor.

 

What gives?

 

Thanks,

 

Jon

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 2 of 11 (620 Views)

Re: Alignment/Corridor/Superelevation Error

07-16-2012 11:17 AM in reply to: jwhal

I haven't had any problem with manually entered data. We create alignment/profile in one dwg, then dref that into our corridor dwg.  You might check that the correct lane is being applied from your assembly to your super. It makes a difference.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 3 of 11 (614 Views)

Re: Alignment/Corridor/Superelevation Error

07-16-2012 11:24 AM in reply to: jwhal
Do you only have one section/curve defined for 3% super and nothing else defined?

We have seen issues where it will start at 0% at the start of the alignment and prorate it down to the station where the 3% is defined, thus giving a bunch of odd grades.

We had to go back and define all the "normal crown" areas in the super table.
Bruce

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Valued Contributor
jwhal
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
Message 4 of 11 (613 Views)

Re: Alignment/Corridor/Superelevation Error

07-16-2012 11:24 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

Hi Lisa,

 

I tried it with both Left Lane Inside and Outside. Same result.

 

Jon

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 5 of 11 (612 Views)

Re: Alignment/Corridor/Superelevation Error

07-16-2012 11:26 AM in reply to: jwhal
Is your workflow to go through the wizard and assign the supers to the entire alignment, then manually edit? Perhaps if you upload a dwg.
Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
Valued Contributor
jwhal
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
Message 6 of 11 (584 Views)

Re: Alignment/Corridor/Superelevation Error

07-23-2012 06:53 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

Sorry, I've been away from the project for a week.

 

Everything is contained within the one drawing. I added the super manually using the tabular editor. The road has varying crowns and not "proper" superelevation. It's a mill and overlay, and we must match what's there (steep fill slopes).

 

See the attached image showing the tabular editor. I've gone as far as entering the crown for every station. I've attached a pdf of the slope stake report as well.

You'll notice the following stations are reporting differently than what I entered:

98.085-140.000

220-260

280-320

390-410

 

While it's not off much, it's off, and I'd like to know why.

 

Subassembly crown by default is -3.00%.

 

I can't for the life of me figure out what's going on. I'll have to punch the data into a spreadsheet for now. Contractor wants the layout this week.

 

Thanks for any insight!

 

Jon 

*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 7 of 11 (572 Views)

Re: Alignment/Corridor/Superelevation Error

07-23-2012 08:01 AM in reply to: jwhal

I'm sure you have, but I'll ask. Did you rebuild the corridor before running the report? We can make changes to the superelevation and it does NOT prompt for a rebuild.

The data looks correct. I'm with Lisa, I think we need to see the drawing at this point to see what's going on.

 

bruce (dot) klug (at) clark (dot) wa (dot) gov

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Valued Contributor
jwhal
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
Message 8 of 11 (566 Views)

Re: Alignment/Corridor/Superelevation Error

07-23-2012 09:59 AM in reply to: klugb

Definitely rebuilt the corridor. Many, many times.

 

I'll have to email you the dwg; it's too large to attach (4mb's).

 

Thanks again!

 

Jon

*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 9 of 11 (559 Views)

Re: Alignment/Corridor/Superelevation Error

07-23-2012 02:37 PM in reply to: jwhal

Ah, a good challenge, but I think I found it :smileyhappy:

 

It appears when the superelvation wizard was used the "curve smoothing" was on and set for 50m. When I plotted the superelevation you can see where it deviates from the design grades, thus giving you weird grades. RT-Click on the table column headings and turn on the "Curve Smoothing" column. You can set them back to "0". That should take care of it.

See the image.

 

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Valued Contributor
jwhal
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
Message 10 of 11 (549 Views)

Re: Alignment/Corridor/Superelevation Error

07-24-2012 05:16 AM in reply to: klugb

Thank you Bruce. That was exactly it. I had the "curve smoothing" column hidden. For some reason, it defaults to 50m, but the problem is fixed now. I don't recall running the wizard though :smileyindifferent:. Thanks again!

 

Jon

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs