AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
onsionsi1
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 1 of 5 (160 Views)

Alignment(Compound Spiral in Loop)

160 Views, 4 Replies
05-09-2012 04:05 AM

Hi evreyone 

Can someone help me how to draw an alignment for the attached file

I have two main road one of the is tangent and other one is spiral so i would like to draw loops with S-C-S

I face many problems to draw that in attached file

So how can i do that in civil 3d 2012

 

Your advice will be appreciate.

 

Thank you.

Please do not forget approve as solutions and Points
to Remember Please Accept as Solution and Kudos Please
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 2 of 5 (154 Views)

Re: Alignment(Compound Spiral in Loop)

05-09-2012 05:36 AM in reply to: onsionsi1

Start by drawing the tangents. Make sure they are going the correct directions. The second tangent won't station after it is drawn because it isn't connected to the alignment.

 

Second, use the SCS element to connect the end of the first tangent to the start of the second. There is an option to allow the curve to be greater than 180 degrees, use that to produce the loops that you need.

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
onsionsi1
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 3 of 5 (151 Views)

Re: Alignment(Compound Spiral in Loop)

05-09-2012 05:53 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Thank you Mr. Peter for your reply

But my issue here is how to attach S-C-S to Spiral and tangent (both edges are spiral and tangent)

For your advice

 

Thank you

Please do not forget approve as solutions and Points
to Remember Please Accept as Solution and Kudos Please
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 4 of 5 (149 Views)

Re: Alignment(Compound Spiral in Loop)

05-09-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: onsionsi1

OK, I mistook the spiral as a tangent.

 

The SCS element will only work between two tangents. If you want a dynamic solution than you're going to have to make a short (very short) tangent at the start of the out spiral.

 

If you know the values of all the curves and the spirals then you can use the floating and fixed elements to build up the loop.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
onsionsi1
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 5 of 5 (145 Views)

Re: Alignment(Compound Spiral in Loop)

05-09-2012 06:49 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Thank for your advice and i will try this solution

 

Please do not forget approve as solutions and Points
to Remember Please Accept as Solution and Kudos Please

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs