AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
tpcc79
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
Message 1 of 22 (721 Views)

Align Polyline onto another polyline

721 Views, 21 Replies
03-22-2012 06:05 PM

Hi

Was wondering if anyone knows a way I can align a new polyline to a reference polyline (orig polyline).

The 2 polys will be generally the same length, however, the number of vertices will differ.

Also I need to mantain the same distance between the vertices on the new poly and the new and reference poly won't follow the same direction.

 

Looking for any help thats out there.

 

Thanks

Valued Mentor
gjrcmb
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
Message 2 of 22 (716 Views)

Re: Align Polyline onto another polyline

03-22-2012 07:16 PM in reply to: tpcc79

See if the ALIGN command will do what you are looking for?

Active Member
tpcc79
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
Message 3 of 22 (711 Views)

Re: Align Polyline onto another polyline

03-22-2012 07:26 PM in reply to: gjrcmb

No the align command is for a simple straight line adjustment. This isn't what I'm doing.

I'm looking for a way for the the new polyline to 'lie' directly ontop of the reference poly, without the overall length of the new poly changing and the distances between distances between th vertices staying the same.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,753
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 22 (708 Views)

Re: Align Polyline onto another polyline

03-22-2012 07:41 PM in reply to: tpcc79

read the command line and answer in the negative to scale objects

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Member
tpcc79
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
Message 5 of 22 (705 Views)

Re: Align Polyline onto another polyline

03-22-2012 07:47 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Once again, it is not a simple straight line adjustment, so the align command doesn't suit.

The 2 polys are generally the same length, with different numbers of vertices and different distances between vertices.

I need the new polyline to align - as close as possible - to the reference poly in all directions and at all vertices, not simply the start and end points.

Valued Mentor
gjrcmb
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
Message 6 of 22 (698 Views)

Re: Align Polyline onto another polyline

03-22-2012 09:11 PM in reply to: tpcc79

The parameters, criteria, and how you would go about implementing a solution seem pretty confusing.  Depending on the polylines you are wanting to align to each other the parameters change,  so how do you define a standard way of handling it, even if the polylines are somewhat similar.

 

So I think that maybe you have to take a stepped approach.  Just speculating here!  Maybe you could use the "Create Line By Best Fit" to fit a line through each polyline possibly using the regression analysis to adjust the fit, then use the "Align" command to align one polyline-fitted line set to the other by using the fitted lines, and then move or adjust one of the polylines along the Align fitted line so that the beginning or ending match up the way you want to.  Does that make any sense?

 

If not perhaps a drawing would help?

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,753
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 22 (650 Views)

Re: Align Polyline onto another polyline

03-24-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: tpcc79

How bout a picture?

 

When you say align, the inference is that you want to correlate two or more points in space to two or more point in a different space that share congruency. If the poly lines are not congruent then how can you expect them to align?

 

What are you asking to do? Post a picture

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
Chasethewind
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
Message 8 of 22 (517 Views)

Re: Align Polyline onto another polyline

01-22-2013 03:00 PM in reply to: tpcc79

I have this exact situation, and would like to know if there is a way to accomplish this task.  Here is a pic.

 

The polyline that is gripped needs to be aligned with the red line.  I typically grab the grip and move it perpendicular to the red line.

 

Note*  I am aware of the straighted command under pedit, but that removes verticies.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,753
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 22 (498 Views)

Re: Align Polyline onto another polyline

01-22-2013 07:08 PM in reply to: Chasethewind

If I understand correctly, the only way I know is manually:

 

Lets take the left side first: Hot grip your linefrom the vertice on the red line away from the arc, when you get to the end hold the last grip with the ctrl key; now pull the last grip toward the red line. If the line is equal to or less than the red line snap to it. If your line is longer than the red line: use the extension snap or draw a construction line before you begin.

 

Why is it not easier to redraw this geometry?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 10 of 22 (480 Views)

Re: Align Polyline onto another polyline

01-22-2013 08:34 PM in reply to: tpcc79

Oh! I wish I had Civil 3D on this computer, it would make answering this so much easier!

 

Let's see if I can find the command in the help system...

 

Here we go, perhaps THIS will help you out.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs