AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
palabalo
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Message 1 of 6 (298 Views)
Accepted Solution

Adjust elevation not location for contour poly lines

298 Views, 5 Replies
02-01-2013 10:58 AM

I was given a file from a competetor (this is evil)

 

The file has  coordinates in feet (x, y) but elevations (Z) in meters.

 

I need the contours intact (cant explode block and scale) to create a surface from.

 

The other part is this is a big file so anything by hand would be rediculous.

 

 

I need the final file where the x,y has stayed the same but the z has been adjusted to the correct foot elevation (scaled)

 

Thanks in advance!

 

 

Civil 3D 2012 SP3
*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 2 of 6 (288 Views)

Re: Adjust elevation not location for contour poly lines

02-01-2013 11:54 AM in reply to: palabalo

export the points to a pnezd comma delimited file.    open with excel or other spreadsheet program.   convert the metric elevation to feet and store the values as numbers.   then replace the metric with the english elevations and save the file to a csv comma delimited file and reimport to C3D.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Contributor
palabalo
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Message 3 of 6 (280 Views)

Re: Adjust elevation not location for contour poly lines

02-01-2013 12:10 PM in reply to: dgordon

Sorry, The data I have is contours, as polylines,  no points.  

Civil 3D 2012 SP3
*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 4 of 6 (272 Views)

Re: Adjust elevation not location for contour poly lines

02-01-2013 12:31 PM in reply to: palabalo

oh sorry i misread that.    for contours the map query functions might work to assign new elevations to the polylines based on a formula.   I know you can have map read gis data and assign elevations to polylines based on that data.  So why wouldn't it let you apply to a math formula to them.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 6 (259 Views)

Re: Adjust elevation not location for contour poly lines

02-01-2013 01:51 PM in reply to: dgordon

Can you just insert this drawing into another as a block?

Then you can set different scales for x, y, z.

 

I won't let you explode as part of the insert, but you can explode it afterwards.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Contributor
palabalo
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Message 6 of 6 (230 Views)

Re: Adjust elevation not location for contour poly lines

02-04-2013 06:54 AM in reply to: troma

Sorry I dont want it exploded, When you scale only one direction it explodes your contours.

 

I did figure this out though,

 

First create a surface style that only displays your triangles.(display tab of suface style only triangles should be highlighted)

 

In the triangles tab of the surface styles menu, select  exagerate elevation) and change the scale factor from 1 to what ever you need to convert, (meters to ft) (if you are reducing the elevation use flatten elevations.

 

Now select the surface to get the surface ribbon,

 

Click extract data.

 

Make sure triangles are the only thing selected.

 

Create a new surface

 

Define the surface by 3d faces,

 

BAM your surface is scaled to the right vertical with out touching your horizontal.

 

Thanks everyone!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Civil 3D 2012 SP3

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs