AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
KristenCourson1781
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 1 of 4 (200 Views)
Accepted Solution

Adding a surface view to a corridor Cross Section

200 Views, 3 Replies
02-06-2014 07:31 AM

I have an existing storm drain ditch that is inadequate to carry flows and we are widening and depending.  A portion of the proposed ditch will have an 8' wide bottom, and the remainder with a 10' wide bottom, so I created an assembly for each piece.  I then created 2 separate corridors along the same centerline alignment, one for each ditch assembly.  I created a cross section sample line group with sample lines along the entire alignment.  The cross section views look fine on the portion of the alignment where the 8' corridor runs.  However, nothing shows up on the cross section views in the alignment area based on the 10' corridor assembly.  I see in the cross section properties where the cross section is based on the corridor surface with the 8' bottom.  The problem is that I cannot find out how to change what surface the cross section is picking up.  Even when I create the cross section new from scratch, I see no option for picking the 10' wide corridor surface that I want to sample from.  AutoCAD automatically picks the 8’ wide corridor surface.  Will I have to create a whole new sample line group to be able to accomplish this?

Active Member
KristenCourson1781
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 2 of 4 (194 Views)

Re: Adding a surface view to a corridor Cross Section

02-06-2014 07:36 AM in reply to: KristenCourson1781

I actually just tried creating a new sample line group.  It automatically picked the 8' bottom corridor surface as well.  Can't figure out how to change this.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,135
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 3 of 4 (187 Views)

Re: Adding a surface view to a corridor Cross Section

02-06-2014 07:43 AM in reply to: KristenCourson1781

Sample Line Group Properties>Sections Tab>Sample More Sources

 

Is the one you wish to show listed? If so sample it here.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Active Member
KristenCourson1781
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 4 of 4 (183 Views)

Re: Adding a surface view to a corridor Cross Section

02-06-2014 07:49 AM in reply to: KristenCourson1781

Thanks.  That is exactly what I needed!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs